Wildflower Capital of the World

I recently read a review in my local newspaper of a new book just published by the author, Bob Gibbons, entitled Wildflower Wonders: The 50 Best Wildflower Sites in the World, whereby he states that Mount Rainier National Park ranks at the top of that site list. Now that makes me feel good since I live not far from the park, and I can identify with the author’s sensationalism about the park’s prolific wildflowers. But I had no idea that the meadow wildflowers here in my state’s national parks were that more spectacular than meadow wildflowers elsewhere in the world. That’s a pretty bold statement in itself to make. But then again, I haven’t traveled around the world to make these sorts of assessments. Also included on the “50 best list” was Olympic National Park’s wildflowers, located here in Washington State as well. I would like to share with you some of my own photos of meadow wildflowers from these parks. Do you have a favorite spot for wildflowers? If so, I’d like to hear about it.

About Peggy A Thompson

A long time resident of Washington State, located in the beautiful Pacific Northwest USA. I am retired and enjoy regional travel, exploring all the wondrous, natural settings that the Pacific Northwest has to offer. If you get a chance, visit my Zazzle gallery, http://www.zazzle.com/northwestphotos. I also have a published book co-authored with world renowned author Stephen F. Kaufman entitled "Portraits of the Living Tao." Copies can be ordered direct from the publisher at http://www.hanshi.com or from Amazon.
This entry was posted in Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Wildflower Capital of the World

  1. Nate says:

    Wow, nice photographs. I love the colors and the second one. I can see how Olympic National Park would top that list. Thanks for sharing this,

    Nate

    • Thanks Nate! The Avalanche Lilies seen in the first photo can be extremely prolific in Mount Rainier National Park. Judging by my own experience, I would have to say that I’ve seen more varieties of wildflowers in that park than Olympic National Park. The Subalpine Lupine in the second photo that you like are quite common in all the mountainous areas of the Cascades. There are different varieties of them.

  2. I’m with you in questioning this. Of course rankings of this sort are usually quite subjective, so I don’t put much faith in them in any case. Texas—when we’re not in a drought—can put on great wildflower displays:

    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com/2011/07/28/phlox-predominant/

  3. TBM says:

    Wow. That looks amazing!

  4. gsaun says:

    In my travels, the alpine meadows of Mount Rainier are some of the best I’ve seen (both in variety of flowers and in consistency). For many, that means the view of the Paradise Meadows since that is one of the most accessible of the high alpine meadows in the park (though there can be equally stunning view on the Sunrise side of the mountain). There are many other meadows I’ve seen around the mountain but they mean some work by hiking the trails and some of the views along Wonderland are incredible.

    I’ve seen the meadows in Olympic and North Cascades showing off as well.

    Tuolumne Meadows in Yosemite can be pretty impressive.

    But I’ve always found myslef coming back Rainier for summer wildflowers.

  5. Thanks for your contributing comments. You’ve hit upon a very good point about the Mount Rainier Paradise Meadows being some of the most accessible wildflower viewing areas in the park. And yes, I love the stunning displays at the Sunrise area of the park as well, especially late in the summer. It’s impressive to hear that you always find yourself coming back to Mt Rainier for the wildflowers.

Leave a Reply

