Hello World!

This being my very first blog entry, the primary issue at hand is where to start. I intend this blog to be informative regarding my travels, along with bits of info about those places, as well as insights into my photography experiences along the way. Let’s start with a popular Asian garden in Portland, Oregon.

Lan Su Chinese Garden is an example of a Classical Chinese Garden, and one of the largest in the states. It opened to the public in September 2000. It is impressive in just how large it is! The garden sits in Old China Town in the city of Portland, Oregon. I decided to visit in the spring when the traditional peony flower blossoms were in bloom and the trees had their fresh spring green color. Immediately adjacent to the entry to the garden is a small gift shop. It is here that you can buy your garden entry ticket. Once inside, the first thing one notices is the exquisitely tiled walkway. By the way, the garden takes up a whole city block with a garden wall around the perimeter that has cut-out design windows to peer through into the garden. Now back to the interior of the garden. Botanicals of many types traditional to a chinese garden line the tiled walkways. Soon one encounters pavilions and other classical chinese garden structures, including the large, impressive tea house. This was the highlight of my visit. I entered and sat down to have a bit of lunch. I must warn you about the extensive tea menu. Along with the tea assortment, there is a food menu as well offering up many delectable items. Be warned that the traditional chinese food is of superior quality and so is the wait staff. As if that wasn’t enough, there was a musician entertaining with traditional chinese music on a traditional chinese stringed intrument.  It was such an enjoyable experience! After I had my fill of food, I continued my journey through the garden. In the center of the garden is a large pond. All around it are classical chinese pavilions, each with their own setting inside of different exhibits. Just as I finished touring the garden, the grey skies opened up and started to rain. Typical spring in the Pacific Northwest!

I was happy that I made this special trip to Portland. I took the Amtrak Cascades train from the Tacoma, Washington depot. The trip takes just under 3 hours and is a pleasant journey. I love to travel by train. I think it’s the only way to see the country, if you have the time. Portland Union Station is a convenient spot to start your tour of the area. The city’s light-rail runs right past the station and provides easy access to many parts of the city. The Lan Su Chinese Garden in China Town is a relatively easy walk from the train depot as well as other local districts. And I must say that Portland’s train depot is quite large. It’s much larger than Seattle’s. Hungry? No problem! There is a food concession area located just inside the depot that offers hot and cold food to go, along with train souvenirs, magazines, candy, refreshments, etc. If you are in the Portland area, I strongly suggest you check out the Lan Su Chinese Garden. Information on street location is at their website.

If you would like to obtain more information about the Lan Su Chinese Garden, visit http://www.lansugarden.org

About northwestphotos

A long time resident of Washington State, located in the beautiful Pacific Northwest USA. I am retired and enjoy regional travel, exploring all the wondrous, natural settings that the Pacific Northwest has to offer. If you get a chance, visit my Northwestphotos Zazzle store, http://www.zazzle.com/northwestphotos.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hello World!

  1. IP Camera says:

    You certainly deserve a round of applause for your post and more specifically, your blog in general. Very high quality material.

Thank you!

