The Big Snow

As I type this, snowflakes are gently falling. It’s a pretty scene, but one not overly welcomed around the Puget Sound area here in Washington. We were forewarned, and the event did happen, albeit some areas got hit much worse than others. I awoke this morning to a winter wonderland and wondered if I would be able to get out and drive to my favorite park to take some photos of the Japanese Garden in Point Defiance Park, Tacoma. After all, we don’t get that many opportunities here to take pictures in the snow unless one drives to the mountains. I waited a few hours for the roads to thaw, grabbed my camera, hat, gloves, and a warm coat, and took off. To my pleasure, the roads were bare and wet. At the park, children were taking advantage of the snow scene and sliding down the hillsides with their plastic saucers and tobagans. It put a smile on my face as I remembered similar days in my youth. I pulled into the parking area at the japanese garden and was ecstatic to find that there was plenty of snow adorning the garden structures. The garden pond was partially frozen with remnants of snowballs scattered on it from nearby snowfights. I didn’t mind. It added a bit of interest to the compostition. I probably spent a good hour outside, or until my fingers partially froze. The warmth inside my car felt good and made my fingers tingle. Tonight, we are preparing for the deep freeze as temperatures plunge below freezing. Then comes the ice.

Zen Snow

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

About northwestphotos

A long time resident of Washington State, located in the beautiful Pacific Northwest USA. I am retired and enjoy regional travel, exploring all the wondrous, natural settings that the Pacific Northwest has to offer. If you get a chance, visit my Northwestphotos Zazzle store, http://www.zazzle.com/northwestphotos.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thank you!

