Need a Vacation?

Well, it’s been a while and I am back in the Pacific Northwest after a long vacation in the Northeast. Not sure if I would call it a vacation though. Why is it that many of us return to our homes and wish for another vacation from our vacation? Is this irony or a paradox? I’m confused! Let’s face it. First of all, a person is damn well good and ready for their vacation after being put on infinite hold while making car rental and hotel reservations, making arrangements to have one’s mail delivered elsewhere or put on hold, taking care of any outstanding bills, prepaying bills, notifying everyone important that you will be out of town for a while, running to the bank to withdraw more money that you don’t have, waiting in lines at airports and train terminals, trying to hail down taxi cabs, and of course, the ever loved task of packing one’s luggage. Do you ever feel like you’re a walking pharmacy whenever you travel? I do. If you’re a woman, you know exactly what I mean. Let’s see…there’s your favorite perfume, your bag of make-up, toiletries of all kinds, body lotion, moisturizer, powder, hair care, flat iron, dietary supplements, disposable razors, first-aid kit, prescription medicines. Did I leave anything out? And don’t forget accessories, jewelry, and other bling. And shoes! I think those take up the most weight in my luggage. In fact, this year I decided to mail all my pairs of shoes that I wanted to bring along with me to where I was staying. A few extra dollars to the post office sure beat the heck out of recovering months from a pulled tendon like I endured last time I tried to carry all my belongings in my luggage. From now on my travel motto is: “pack light; travel light.”

And that’s just the start of one’s vacation! Or should I call it the pre-vacation? How about when you get back? There’s the unpacking, laundering, picking up all your junk mail from the post office, sorting through all the junk mail and bills, sorting out your money account after all the free spending, sorting through all your email, running errands, and learning how to cook all over again. And lastly, getting back to the work office where your work has been patiently waiting for you to put in that overtime to make up for the time you were gone on vacation. Makes me wonder why one would even want to go on a vacation faced with knowing the fact that you will be farther behind in your work then ever! Do you ever feel a bit anxious or tense when on vacation? Know you know why!

Yes, I enjoyed my vacation if you really want to know. How do I feel now? Pooped! I think I need a vacation from my vacation.

About northwestphotos

A long time resident of Washington State, located in the beautiful Pacific Northwest USA. I am retired and enjoy regional travel, exploring all the wondrous, natural settings that the Pacific Northwest has to offer. If you get a chance, visit my Northwestphotos Zazzle store, http://www.zazzle.com/northwestphotos.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thank you!

