Paradise Defined

Today was a most beautiful day here in the Pacific Northwest, and what better way to have relished it by visiting the Paradise area at Mt Rainier National Park! I mean…it was a picture perfect day in the mountain park: blue sky, colorful mountain flowers, warm temperatures, and NO large crowds. Since the summer season was late this year in this region, the summer flowers and autumn flowers are blossoming together in the Paradise meadows. As I walked the trails, my nose was filled with perfumy aromas, especially from the abundant purple Subalpine Lupine. I made a mental note of the flower species I observed: Paintbrush, Sitka Valerian, Subalpine Lupine, Pearly Everlasting, Subalpine Daisy, Arrowleaf Groundsel, Fan-leaf Cinquefoil, Aster, Rosy Spirea, Pasqueflower, Bistort. I’m sure I left out a few.

Paradise is an area that one can often expect to see some kind of wildlife suddenly appear. Today I was rewarded with hearing and spotting the whistling marmots (see photos above) that make their home in the meadows. Spotting wildlife is usually not very difficult here. Many of the animal species are quite comfortable with human presence in the park, perhaps a little too comfortable at times. But then again, one’s definition of Paradise may include humans and animals co-existing side by side without fear of each other.

About northwestphotos

A long time resident of Washington State, located in the beautiful Pacific Northwest USA. I am retired and enjoy regional travel, exploring all the wondrous, natural settings that the Pacific Northwest has to offer. If you get a chance, visit my Northwestphotos Zazzle store, http://www.zazzle.com/northwestphotos.
This entry was posted in Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Paradise Defined

  1. sartenada says:

    How lovely post. I enjoyed with full of my heart those photos. The second photo from the top is my favorite. Why? Well, when seeing snow and summer flowers together in same photo together is exotic to me. Snow we have in Finland, but flowers, they belong to summer.

    Happy blogging!

    • Thank you for the kind words. I’m glad you enjoyed the photos. One fact that you must know about Mt Rainier is that it is a very tall mountain (actually a volcano) and is covered in snow and glaciers all year round. It is such a beautiful mountain!

Thank you!

