The Gift That Keeps Giving

With the holidays upon us and gift buying in full swing, one of the more popular casual gift items to be given to friends and relatives is an attractive bottle of wine. I love to peruse the aisles of bottled wines on the store racks just to look at the creative labels adorning them.  The designers of labels are getting quite creative. Some are downright humorous! Some are obviously inspired by natural beauty. But that’s not what I to want to write about today.

I just recently purchased a bottle of Washington State wine, an Asian Pear wine to be specific, and read some fascinating information about the winery written on its label. Fascinating was not the word, but rather…enlightening. This particular bottle of Asian Pear wine I purchased was bottled by the Windfall Winery. As stated on the bottle, one of the reasons why the winery was started was to help working families purchase homes in their communities. The label goes on to state that all of the winery’s profits are used to construct affordable housing for those who otherwise could not afford it. I also liked their clever analogy use of the word “house wine.” I mean, how more true can this get!

Just as I was getting ready to write this blog, I accidentally fell upon another related article to wineries and philanthropy. I thought to myself, “What luck! More fuel for my blog post!” This particular winery is located in the Northern Napa Valley region of California, Ehlers Estate. Come to find out, one hundred percent of the proceeds from the sale of their wines goes to support the Leducq Foundation, a highly regarded, not-for-profit foundation dedicated to funding international cardiovascular research. If you have the opportunity, take a look at their bottle label. The big “E” has a heart shape if you look closely.

Getting back to Washington State, I did a bit more info digging and found some information about the very popular Chateau Ste. Michelle Winery in the Puget Sound region. Each year they hold one of the country’s largest charity wine auctions. One hundred percent of their charity fund proceeds goes to Seattle Children’s Hospital.

There must be plenty of philanthropic wineries in the states, and if you would like to mention them in your comments, please do so. Enlighten me! What I learned today is that the wine I purchase to give as a gift this holiday or any occasion can truly be a “gift that keeps giving.”

About northwestphotos

A long time resident of Washington State, located in the beautiful Pacific Northwest USA. I am retired and enjoy regional travel, exploring all the wondrous, natural settings that the Pacific Northwest has to offer. If you get a chance, visit my Northwestphotos Zazzle store, http://www.zazzle.com/northwestphotos.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thank you!

