Snowmageddon – Part II

As if a foot of snow isn’t enough for us here in Western Washington! I awoke this morning to the sound of sleet and ice pellets on my window panes. The cold air just doesn’t seem to want to go away. This scenario has been ongoing for hours, and now the governor has called for a state of emergency. I have been sitting here listening to cracking tree branches, some very large, mostly from Douglas Fir that predominates the region. The lights have been flickering as well. I know that thousands of people are without power and I pray that I will not be added to that growing list. Miles of highways and main roads have been closed due to the icy conditions and fallen trees. This really is a battle between man and nature! When will it end??

About northwestphotos

A long time resident of Washington State, located in the beautiful Pacific Northwest USA. I am retired and enjoy regional travel, exploring all the wondrous, natural settings that the Pacific Northwest has to offer. If you get a chance, visit my Northwestphotos Zazzle store, http://www.zazzle.com/northwestphotos.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Snowmageddon – Part II

  1. TBM says:

    Lovely photos, but I hope you don’t lose power!

  2. Sartenada says:

    Your photos are awesome. We have here in Finland icy and snowy moments here also. For trees it is not good and shrubs in garden.

  3. Thankfully, I did not lose power, although there were moments when I thought I would. Today, Friday, is very messy. Rain has returned and should be getting quite heavy.

  4. I don’t find that much snow too much of a worry, but freezing rain is just the worst. All the trees it damages and how truly tough it is to drive in!

  5. Chara Photographics says:

    Wow! These photos are awesome! I hope it all melted without too much damage!

    • Actually, there was quite a bit of damage. Trees fell onto power lines that disrupted power for thousands of homes. Many residences in outlying areas did not get their power back for a whole week! I felt for these people!

  6. First photo is amazing.
    The other photos are beautiful.
    🙂

Thank you!

