Nature’s Symphony

The photo that is the banner located at the top of my blog page is one of my all-time favorites of my personal Mount Rainier photos. It’s quite intriguing and stirs the imagination. It is a symphony of nature’s elements playing to the sky: a cacophony of solids, water, and gas. One can compare it to the musical masterpieces of the world’s Great Classical Composers. “How can this be?” you may ask. “I hear no musical notes being played!”

Ahh…but there are notes being played! Notes floating through the air that land not on our auditory perceptors, but on our visual perceptors. And however one perceives the images before them, a different symphony is heard by each individual experiencing it. Have you ever heard someone describing a most beautiful place in nature that they visited and exclaimed that the beauty almost made them cry?

You see, the music of nature can play on our heartstrings much the same that a physically audible arrangement of music can. If you are emotionally stirred by a beautiful piece of music, chances are that you may be equally stirred by a snow covered, majestic mountain being entertained by curious shapes of clouds around its summit—or any other grandeur image in nature for that matter.

Next time you find yourself in a special place outdoors, take a moment to enjoy nature’s symphony. Observe the players and their parts they each play in its masterpiece!

About northwestphotos

A long time resident of Washington State, located in the beautiful Pacific Northwest USA. I am retired and enjoy regional travel, exploring all the wondrous, natural settings that the Pacific Northwest has to offer. If you get a chance, visit my Northwestphotos Zazzle store, http://www.zazzle.com/northwestphotos.
This entry was posted in Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Nature’s Symphony

  1. Emily A. says:

    Hi Peggy, I was just wondering if you’d visited the northeast much? My cousin lives in New Hampshire and the nature up there is really beautiful as well.

    • Hi Emily! Thank you for visiting my blog and yes, I am originally from the Northeast (many, many years ago). I have never visited New Hampshire though. I hear it is beautiful with the autumn colors. Each place has its own beauty that plays in symphony with mother nature.

  2. Bee says:

    I got to see Mount Rainier for the first time when I visited my friend last August…it was breathtaking! Thanks for sharing…

  3. Sonya Chasey says:

    Peception is always intriguing -to what extent the response is universal ( the way our brain has evolved for example) & to what extent it is from our experience? Obviously both have a part to play to some degree. It seems that mountains do evoke a sense of awe in many people, but I wonder to what extent & how many people would not be moved at all? The same with music. A question of degree again perhaps.

    “Have you ever heard someone describing a most beautiful place in nature that they visited and exclaimed that the beauty almost made them cry?” This reminded me of something in a book I read recently by Antonio Damasio on feeling & emotion (sorry I can’t quote it as I’ve lent it to someone). Basically he was saying that people were far more likely to cry on hearing a piece of music than from looking at a painting. I don’t now if that would apply to the experience of nature though, given it is more encompassing of the senses than painting, which is purely visual.

    • Sonya…you bring up some very good points, which I respect. How anyone responds to anything has to take into account a variety of factors, probably too many to list here. But that is not the point. Yes, there are humans that aren’t moved by much of anything. Sometimes, it’s a very personal thing that he/she experiences that nobody else does. Others get emotionally moved very easily by just about anything. Yes, everything that we experience and respond to, such as music and the visual, is based on perception when you get right down to it. And it’s our God-given senses that brings life to everything around us! As always, thank you for your insightful comments!

      • Sonya…no apology needed whatsoever! It’s so difficult to put into words the feelings and emotions that nature, music, etc., impart inside us. And so the same goes with writing our thoughts down in a blog post for example. It almost goes without saying that each and every one of us will interpret the meaning in a slightly different way. We try to be poets and writers, comparing “things” to other “things.” The ending result isn’t always what we intended to say or mean. Man’s intelligent use of words is only limited to his own ability to express those words. And so, using a comparative analogy at times may be the only way for him to express thoughts and emotions. There is nothing wrong with being at the analytical level, as it adds to conversation. I will always welcome that!

  4. Sonya Chasey says:

    Sorry if I didn’t get your point – I guess what I was trying to say was precisely because being on top of a mountain or out in nature does so much give me that uplifting feeling.

    I’m always curious about the how & why of these things at a certain more analytical level, whilst at the same time believing that emotion is rooted deeply in us. If it weren’t such an essential aspect I think that art, music, religion, poetry & literature could never have come about. These seem to have been vital elements of being human for a pretty long time. And they enable us to express & sometimes to explain (like I think you are saying with music) our strong feelings for the world around us.

    If I’ve understood correctly you are talking about the celebration of life? Which I go for 100°/°.
    Hope I’m not being too boring – I think I don’t express myself too well with words!

Thank you!

