The Imperfect Lily

The Imperfect Lily

Have you ever come across a beautiful specimen you wanted to photograph and then realized it had an imperfection that ruined your chances for a great photo? Such was the case when I came across this beautiful, white lily. I loved the shape and features of the blossom. But darn it! There was this little bite out of one side. By all appearances, it looked to have been snacked upon by a foraging insect. As well, if you look behind the lily blossom off to the left, you will see a rather large hole in the green leaf that obviously was attacked as well. Even though I knew this particular specimen was not the best subject, I forced myself to overlook its faults. To me the blossom was so beautiful that the small imperfection was meaningless to me. The photo of this lily has a unique beauty aspect all its own. Perhaps you may not agree with me, but I believe that this beautiful creation of nature deserves to be admired no matter what its imperfections…somewhat similar to we humans that have imperfections outwardly. But, if we accept each other for who and what we are, there is beauty to be found nonetheless!

About northwestphotos

A long time resident of Washington State, located in the beautiful Pacific Northwest USA. I am retired and enjoy regional travel, exploring all the wondrous, natural settings that the Pacific Northwest has to offer. If you get a chance, visit my Northwestphotos Zazzle store, http://www.zazzle.com/northwestphotos.
This entry was posted in Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Imperfect Lily

  1. Vicki says:

    I agree with your thoughts on this lily.. nothing is perfect, but everything has its own beauty if we just look for it.

  2. norcalman says:

    Nothing wrong with a little imperfection in a subject. Some of my best floral shots have something “wrong” with them that sets them apart from all else. Think of it this way: the flower in this shot is as unique as an individual snowflake and you are the only one to have taken a picture of it.

  3. Sonya Chasey says:

    I think that the “imperfection” isn’t one at all in this case. The negative space (where the bite has been taken) created by how you’ve chosen to compose your shot is in harmony with the other aspects of the composition.
    Also true that of course both as a flower & as a shot it’s unique just as we all are. And …. just to show how we all intereprete everything with our own unique personal histories – you posted it on my birthday so perhaps I’m bound to be even more emotionally receptive to it ?!

    Thank-you for commenting on my blog as I’ve now found yours.

  4. “Imperfection” is just a reminder that this world is “imperfect” ~~ and it’s all good. Thank you for sharing your inspiring photographs!

Thank you!

