Quirky Nature

I think that one of the more whimsical works of nature I’ve seen is this Crested Pekin duck I followed around at a local park pond. It just looks so funny with that puffball on top of its head! I don’t know if this oddball appearance shows up in male or female, or both; but I wonder if it does anything for their sex appeal!

About northwestphotos

A long time resident of Washington State, located in the beautiful Pacific Northwest USA. I am retired and enjoy regional travel, exploring all the wondrous, natural settings that the Pacific Northwest has to offer. If you get a chance, visit my Northwestphotos Zazzle store, http://www.zazzle.com/northwestphotos.
This entry was posted in Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Quirky Nature

  1. rdowney86 says:

    I love how the white one stands out so well in the dark back drop. Very pretty!

  2. Vicki says:

    he’s kind of a cute fellow..

  3. dianne - "life as i see it" - "just because" says:

    Gorgeous!

  4. I recently found a crested duck at a lake about a mile from me where I go walking all the time. I found out that if your duck is solid white, it’s a white-crested duck. According to efowl.com, “A crest can occur in all domestic breeds of ducks that originated from the Wild Mallard due to a gene mutation.” You can see my non-white duck at http://russelrayphotos2.com/2012/03/21/new-duck-species/. If you don’t like links in your comments, feel free to delete this comment. I won’t be offended.

  5. By the way, after reading the comments, you could take your photo to almost any of the digital photo editing programs (Photoshop, Lighroom, PaintShop Pro, Photo-Paint, Gimp, Picasa, Picnik, etc.) and lighten the shadows to provide a more even lighting throughout the picture. Just depends on what you, the artist and photographer, want.

    • I had thought about that, but then again, I was wanting to pull attention only to the white duck. His/her whiteness is a great contrast against the shadows, don’t you think? Like you stated, it all depends on what the artist/photographer intends for the viewer.

Thank you!

