Look for Hidden Beauty in Nature

Stargazer Lily

When photographing flowers, don’t always assume that you should be photographing the front face of the flower. Nature sometimes surprises us with hidden beauty that we tend to overlook or just not pay attention to. Really…who looks at the rear of flowers?

Take for example this photo of a Stargazer Lily. The day that I photographed it was on an early morning. The sun was shining directly on the face of the white flower. That was not good for me. I stood behind the flower thinking how to compose my photo and suddenly noticed the elegance and beauty of the backside of it. Wow! And to make things  even more interesting, there were bushes with beautiful magenta colored leaves in front of the flower a short distance away. I positioned myself, focusing on the flower, making sure I got the magenta color in the background.  And for my keen awareness and composition, this photo won me first prize in a contest. Needless to say, I was very happy with my accomplishment!

 

About northwestphotos

A long time resident of Washington State, located in the beautiful Pacific Northwest USA. I am retired and enjoy regional travel, exploring all the wondrous, natural settings that the Pacific Northwest has to offer. If you get a chance, visit my Northwestphotos Zazzle store, http://www.zazzle.com/northwestphotos.
This entry was posted in Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Look for Hidden Beauty in Nature

  1. selah says:

    that is beautiful and I love the background color.. makes me miss my old macro/telephoto lens I used on my old Minolta 35mm

  2. kasmango says:

    Beautiful perspective!

  3. samacwns says:

    Great tip! Thanks 🙂

  4. Marcel Nuss says:

    Very nice perspective, lighting & background!

  5. Mona says:

    Before I read your explanation, I thought, “Wow, what a beautiful perspective.” Most people shoot a flower from the “front.” Nice image.

    Thank you for visiting my blog.

  6. Gorgeous! I’m not surprised it won for you!

  7. The view from below definitely works here. Well chosen.

    Steve Schwartzman
    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com

Thank you!

