A Pilgrimage of Sorts

In my last blog post I talked about the major Tulip festivals ongoing here in Washington and Oregon this month. Besides the major ones, I also made a general reference to all the other bulb farms and garden nurseries with their beautiful seasonal displays. I had the pleasure of visiting one of these bulb farms in my region over the weekend. This was my first visit to the DeGoede Bulb Farm and Gardens. Boy, was I in for a treat that I had not expected, and in more ways than one! The farm is located just west of Mossyrock, Washington on State Rte 12.  And when I say just west of Mossyrock, I mean just west…before you get to Mossyrock Lake. Just head east from Interstate 5.

The DeGoede Bulb Farm Gardens has a beautiful, floral garden display adjacent to its nursery. Just follow the signs inside the nursery. I was surprised at just how large it was! All the visitors that entered the gardens marveled at how beautiful it was. It is also landscaped with a concrete walkway that is accessible by handicapped persons. Of course, the prominent flower of display for this time of the season is the tulip. There is also a small windmill display for a traditional Dutch tulip garden theme.

After my visit through the floral gardens, I inquired of one of the workers if the tulip fields across the highway were open for public viewing. I was told yes, but that they were a bit muddy and that I could hike up to the cross as well if I wanted to. I did not know what she meant by “hike up to the cross.” I asked for driving directions to the tulip fields and then made my way down a narrow, gravel road that eventually came to a small chapel. This was the second part of my journey that day that I had not expected in the least bit. The chapel, called Our Lady of Guadalupe Chapel, was built in a traditional Mexican architecture style. There’s also a beautiful shrine attached to the building, and adjacent to it is a trail through the woods that leads up a steep hill a quarter of a mile. At the top of the hill is a huge, towering cross. Along the switchback trail, which is well maintained, are picture displays of the 14 Stations of the Cross. I decided to make the pilgrimage up the hill and through the woods, even though I was not in the best of condition to make an arduous hike up such a steep trail. But, there are wooden benches to rest or to reflect at each station along the way. At the summit, one is rewarded with a sweeping view of the area, along with the towering cross. I must admit that I have never encountered a religious display in such a beautiful, natural setting as this! I’m sure that I’ll make this pilgrimage of sorts on another day…another journey.

Our Lady of Guadalupe Chapel

About northwestphotos

A long time resident of Washington State, located in the beautiful Pacific Northwest USA. I am retired and enjoy regional travel, exploring all the wondrous, natural settings that the Pacific Northwest has to offer. If you get a chance, visit my Northwestphotos Zazzle store, http://www.zazzle.com/northwestphotos.
This entry was posted in Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Pilgrimage of Sorts

  1. As always, great post.

  2. samacwns says:

    I’ll need to stop by this weekend! I want some picture too, but they won’t be as good as yours!

  3. grassgal73 says:

    Beautiful pictures! My family and I worked at DeGoedes for years back in the late 80s, early 90s. My Grandpa built the Crosses for Mr. DeGoede back then. We left there in June of 1991. I was fortunate to go back a couple times since then. Always breathtaking. 🙂 Thanks for sharing your wonderful pictures.

    • Thank you so much for your comments! How neat to hear from someone that worked at DeGoede Gardens and how fascinating that your grandfather built the Crosses. That is something to be proud of in your family for generations to come and to be able to share that info with others. Thank you so much for sharing it here!

  4. gsaun says:

    Very nice. Our tulip season back east (in NC) seemed pretty weak. Some tulips just did not emerge, others with greenery and thats about all. We think it has to do with the exceptionally warm winter and spring we had as we only had a couple of nights that dropped into the mid-20’s and most days were well above normal.

    • Thank you! Sorry to hear that your tulip season never really came to fruition. I hope your other spring flowers have bloomed without any problems. When I think of the state of North Carolina, blooming flowers always come to mind.

  5. Malou says:

    Great post, Peggy! The big difference between the tulip fields there and here is that you have mountains in the distance that really add charm. 😉

Thank you!

