Of Mountains and Totem Poles (Part I)

Visiting Hurricane Ridge in Olympic National Park is a mind-bender in the springtime. There’s tons of snow up there still, though the road is kept clear. As mentioned in my previous post, I had been giving my friend from the big city, NYC, a whirlwind tour of the region this past week. One can only imagine how these images affect someone who is not used to seeing awesome works of nature, such as this, in the Pacific Northwest. For someone like me who has lived here for many years, one would think that I take these things for granted. But, oh no! Not me! This eye candy still astonishes me each and every time.

What makes the scenery even more awesome is the changing weather with clouds swirling  amidst the mountain range and valleys. Many times, one is standing above the clouds, but this time, the clouds were amongst us. We even encountered snowfall as we drove up the road to Hurricane Ridge. Wildlife was abundant this time as we traveled along the road to Hurricane Ridge. We must have seen about a dozen black-tailed deer and, of course, one of my favorite park residents, the big, black raven.

Of interest is the Olympic National Park Visitor Center located on the main road just before the turn-off to the Hurricane Ridge park entrance. There are informational displays, brochures, a small gift shop, and helpful staff to answer questions. One of my favorites is a wildlife display that looks so life-like. Here are a few photos that includes an elk and a flying squirrel.

Stay tuned for Part II of my trip to Olympic National Park that will include a stop at a Pacific Northwest Native Indian cultural center, located in Sequim, WA.

About northwestphotos

A long time resident of Washington State, located in the beautiful Pacific Northwest USA. I am retired and enjoy regional travel, exploring all the wondrous, natural settings that the Pacific Northwest has to offer. If you get a chance, visit my Northwestphotos Zazzle store, http://www.zazzle.com/northwestphotos.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Nature, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Of Mountains and Totem Poles (Part I)

  1. selah says:

    wonderful photos..

  2. ldsiebs says:

    The first few pictures literally took my breath away! Thank you so much for sharing. I can’t wait for Part II! I have never been to Olympic National Park, and haven’t had it on my list until now! Thank you!

    • Thank you for your exhilerating comment! The photos really don’t do justice at all! You really have to be there in person to experience these types of dramatical displays of nature. I do hope that you get to visit the park one day!

  3. I visited during the summer. It was cold, windy, and snowy on Hurrican Ridge but then we went down to the beaches where it was nice, warm, and sunny.

  4. Yep, it can be that way when traveling from one extreme elevation to another. What people need to understand is that the Olympic Mountains are a coastal range. You can be at over 5,000 ft in less than an hour’s drive starting from sea level.

Thank you!

