Mount St Helens Eruption Anniversary

Mt St Helens as Seen from Johnston Ridge Observatory

It’s that time of year again! I’m speaking, of course, from a personal perspective. Each May 18, weather permitting, I make a pilgrimage of sorts to the Mount St Helens volcano in southwest Washington to pay my respects to the lives lost during the catastrophic eruption of May 18, 1980 and to remind myself of the potential power of these giants I live amongst here in the Pacific Northwest.

This particular anniversary was a bit more special for the Mount St Helens National Volcanic Monument. A brand new, outdoor amphitheater adjacent to the Johnston Ridge Observatory was open for viewing, although not in use yet. And, the Coldwater Lake Visitor Center that had been shuttered for the past some years reopened, not as a visitor center, but as a new Science and Learning Center. I’m glad to see that the building is being put to good use and not just sitting unoccupied. I’ve included several shots of the volcano, along with photos in and around the Observatory and new Science and Learning Center.

About northwestphotos

A long time resident of Washington State, located in the beautiful Pacific Northwest USA. I am retired and enjoy regional travel, exploring all the wondrous, natural settings that the Pacific Northwest has to offer. If you get a chance, visit my Northwestphotos Zazzle store, http://www.zazzle.com/northwestphotos.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Nature, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Mount St Helens Eruption Anniversary

  1. samacwns says:

    Great pictures! I’m hoping to go this summer…it’s been a long time since I’ve been!

  2. Thanks! I prefer visiting the volcanic monument during the springtime when there is still some snow on the mountain and the wildflowers are in bloom. Hope you can get back there again soon!

  3. Wow! Those are some fantastic shots! It really puts things in perspective the way that you have captured the mountain.

  4. Thank you for your kind comments!

  5. rdowney86 says:

    Wow, I haven’t been there in forever. I love the view from the windows inside. Stunning these mountains, so beautiful and so powerful.

  6. Such a cool place. I’ve been there several times since the eruption.

  7. Sartenada says:

    Excellent photo report. I have seen this place in Finnish National Television and it inspires.

Thank you!

