A Town Full of Western Art Murals

Over the weekend, I took a scenic tour through some areas of Central Washington State that I have never been through before. This includes the regional Yakima Valley area noted for it plentiful agriculture industry that includes growing hops, as well as fruit and vegetables. This area also has many fine vineyards located along the Yakima River Valley.

But the main reason for my decision to visit this area was based on reading about the small, Western town of Toppenish. Come to find out, the town prides itself on having a large collection of Western Art murals spread all over town…over 70 in all! One can take a walking tour to view the many marvelous murals painted on the sides and fronts of buildings. Below, I have included some photo samples of these marvelous works of art.

And while in Toppenish, visit the American Hop Museum, the only one of its kind in the US, and as well, the magnificent Yakama Nation Museum. Getting to this quaint, Western town is quite easy. True, it will take some time and distance from the major metropolitan areas of Seattle and Portland, and I recommend planning your visit with a night’s stay in a hotel/motel somewhere along the way to or from the area. From the Seattle area, zip through the Cascades on I-90 to Ellensburg, and then head south to Yakima on I-82. From there, follow US Rte 97 to Toppenish. Pay attention to the signs that point to the town center. From the Portland area, follow the Columbia River Gorge Interstate 85, cross the river at US Rte 97 and head north to Toppenish. From all areas in Central Oregon, just head north all the way on US Rte 97.

Just a word of caution. This Central Washington region is desert area, and during the mid summer, temperatures can exceed 100 degrees for several days. Plan accordingly. This is why I went in the spring when temperatures are a bit more comfortable. Happy traveling!

About northwestphotos

A long time resident of Washington State, located in the beautiful Pacific Northwest USA. I am retired and enjoy regional travel, exploring all the wondrous, natural settings that the Pacific Northwest has to offer. If you get a chance, visit my Northwestphotos Zazzle store, http://www.zazzle.com/northwestphotos.
This entry was posted in Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A Town Full of Western Art Murals

  1. Magnificent murals! It must feel amazing to see art in such a huge scale at one place. Thanks for sharing it here :).

  2. I love when you can find this type of art when you least expect it.

    I have a son who used to TAG places since I place him for adoption this may have been an outlet for hurt and anger so when we met I told it it was AGAINST THE LAW to DEFACE someones property! So I then said if you are THAT GOOD do something about it! Now he is not only a back country skier but a wonderful artist who paints on peoples property with their PERMISSION. Guess he just needed to hear it from his Mother 🙂

    • Good for you and your son! Guess your words really did have an effect on him. He must be very skilled in his art and proud of it and I bet you are too now that he is redirecting his energies in a postive manner. It would be nice to see some of his work. Thank you for sharing this information with us.

      • https://www.facebook.com/TetonArtistMikeTierney

        That is his link he uses for his art work he has chosen to share with the friends and others on Facebook They did a wonderful job in raising him. They are my angels.
        Thankful I did get to spend a few months on the phone with him learning about each other and finally meeting him all grown up. Ours is a sad and happy story which I hope to tell some day 🙂

  3. Sartenada says:

    Awesome post. I love every photo which You presented here. Cowboys and Native Indians are my absolute favorites

  4. So cool! I went there in 1999 but lost all my pictures in the Great Hard Drive Crash of August 2005. Might I steal yours…….. lol

    • So sorry about your hard drive crash. But really, you should get back there again sometime. More murals are added each year; so, your collection will be even bigger and better than your original one!

Thank you!

