Those Magnificent Flying Machines!

Father’ Day and airshows go hand in hand. It’s a great way to spend a day with dad…sort of like one big, outdoor barbeque. Heck! I like them myself, eying over the rows of vintage, and many times, colorful aircraft, some of which have some pretty interesting decals on them. Some of the aircraft can be on loan from traveling air museums. And, some of the museums put on a show right there in their own backyard, if they are adjacent to an airfield. Such is the case of the airshow put on each Father’s Day weekend at the Olympic Flight Museum, located at the Olympia Regional Airport, Washington State. A small museum, but they put on one heck of a show that always draws a big crowd. I’ve been to several of the shows over the years, so I thought I would share some my own photos of some of the aircraft displayed. I just know that some of you guys out there in blog land love these old War Birds, as they are called.

About northwestphotos

A long time resident of Washington State, located in the beautiful Pacific Northwest USA. I am retired and enjoy regional travel, exploring all the wondrous, natural settings that the Pacific Northwest has to offer. If you get a chance, visit my Northwestphotos Zazzle store, http://www.zazzle.com/northwestphotos.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Those Magnificent Flying Machines!

  1. samacwns says:

    How funny, I went to the Olympic Airshow on Saturday!! I love the pictures you got! Planes are just so fun to shoot. 🙂 My poor boyfriend would start steering me toward an exhibit, and I’d stop and start taking pictures a few feet later lol.

  2. Glad you got to go! Yes, I also love to take photos of planes…all kinds. I have a wide angle lens that lets me get right on top of them to get some great angle shots.

  3. These pictures are a treat to the eyes for an airplane aficionado like me! Thanks for sharing.

  4. Hutch says:

    Love plane pics very nice! On another note, I have just nominated you for the One Lovely Blog award, for details on what to do go to my post at http://doublebarreloutdoors.wordpress.com/2012/06/20/double-barrel-outdoors-has-just-been-nominated/
    Congrats! 🙂

  5. Beautiful!

    We have several air shows here each year. The largest in the nation (according to the PR people) is in October during Fleet Week, which is actually Fleet Month — its been expanded over the years because of the 225,000 military living or stationed here. Another ten years and it will be Fleet Year. lol

    • Our local AFB puts on a darn good air show as well; not every year though, due to wartime commitments. And in Seattle, each summer the Blue Angels put on a show as part of the popular SeaFair activities. So yes, lots of flying machines around here!

      • I’ve seen the Blue Angels and the Thunderbirds hundreds of times over the year. I sent to SeaFair back in 1999. I spent a lot of time in Washington that year….. what a year it was!

Thank you!

