Lavender Festival Time!

Once again, it’s Lavender Festival time on the Olympic Peninsula in Sequim, Washington. I attended the festival this past weekend and, as usual, had a terrific time! There are actually two festivals: the Lavender Festival Street Fair, and the Lavender in the Park Faire, which takes place at Carrie Blake Park. There are lavender farm tours included as well, some with paid bus tours and some that are self-guided. I didn’t have time to take any farm tours. There is so much to take in on the festival sites themselves. Not only are there myriads of wonderful lavender products to indulge in, but also scores of unique and one-of-a-kind arts and crafts as well.

For those not familiar with Sequim (pronounced Squim), it is the lavender capital of North America. The area lies just north of the Olympic Mountains and is situated on the north coast of the Olympic Peninsula. So yes, choose between beautiful landscapes of either forests and mountains or the coastline. They even have their own resident herd of elk! And, another interesting fact about the area is the weather. Sequim lies in the rain shadow of the Olympic Mountains and receives an average of 15 inches of rain per year, making for ideal growing conditions for lavender.

I took my trusty camera along with me as usual and took some photos of the gardens in Carrie Blake park. Planted are several varieties of lavender along with other colorful flowers. Enjoy!

All photos copyrighted by Peggy Thompson.

If you enjoy my photos, please visit my Northwestphotos Zazzle Store.

About northwestphotos

A long time resident of Washington State, located in the beautiful Pacific Northwest USA. I am retired and enjoy regional travel, exploring all the wondrous, natural settings that the Pacific Northwest has to offer. If you get a chance, visit my Northwestphotos Zazzle store, http://www.zazzle.com/northwestphotos.
This entry was posted in Nature, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Lavender Festival Time!

  1. For some reason I cannot see the images, but, such a coincidence as I have been to a lavender farm here today! I stumbled across it last night and visited today, amazing how so much distance exists but we end up blogging the same subject! Simply wonderful! x

    • Thank you for your comment! Do you use Internet Explorer? I just looked at my blog in Explorer and found that the images were not showing. I don’t know why that is. I am having more and more issues with viewing pages with IE8. Try using Firefox. There are no viewing issues with my blog there. I usually creat my blogs with Firefox due to issues with IE8. On another note, July is lavender time and I would imagine a lot of people are blogging about these beautiful blooms. Glad you got to view them as well!

  2. Amazing pictures, Peggy!

Thank you!

