Tacoma Arts and Festivals – Part I

Museum of Glass – Tacoma

So much to see and do this weekend! Living in the Pacific Northwest gives a person so many choices, especially if one is an outdoors person. Between nature’s beauty and a myriad of summer festivals in the region, making a decision on where to go can sometimes be a daunting task. But, today I made my mind up to go to the downtown area of Tacoma to watch the many dance and song performances of Native tribes from the region and beyond as part of the In the Spirit Festival. It takes place on the grounds of the Washington State History Museum – Tacoma, which is right across from the famous Museum of Glass that features the glass artwork of Dale Chilhuly. I took so many photos of both the festival and the nearby architecture and art displays, that I feel it only fair to break up the blog into two parts. So here is Part I that centers on the architecture and art displays.

There is a partially covered bridge walk that one can access from the Museum of Glass from the Washington State History Museum. The ceiling and one wall side of the covered walk area is one of the most fascinating and beautiful displays of art I have ever seen. I pointed my camera at the ceiling in a few places and here is a sample of what one can experience.

And, set within many glass paneled cubicles along one wall side of the covered walk area are pieces of fantastic, glass artwork. One can spend a lot of time here gazing and being amazed by the many fine pieces of art. Here is one sample of the many displays of glass art.

From the bridge walk, one gets a very nice view of the historic Tacoma Union Station, now housing a US courthouse. Inside the courthouse is…you guessed it…more displays of Chihuly glass art!

When visiting the Tacoma area, make sure you take time to visit the historic downtown section. There’s lots to see to keep one busy! And, I’ve just scratched the surface!

About northwestphotos

A long time resident of Washington State, located in the beautiful Pacific Northwest USA. I am retired and enjoy regional travel, exploring all the wondrous, natural settings that the Pacific Northwest has to offer. If you get a chance, visit my Northwestphotos Zazzle store, http://www.zazzle.com/northwestphotos.
This entry was posted in Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tacoma Arts and Festivals – Part I

  1. I adore GLASS in all forms and love Chilhuly and his creations. I must do a better blog than I did on his work here in Boston. Thanks for reminding me 🙂

  2. That’s different! I love the look of the Union Station.

Thank you!

