Mountain Hopping

Seems like I’ve been hopping from one mountain to another lately. First, Rainier, and now I just came back from a trip to the Mount Hood, Oregon and Mount Adams, Washington areas. Guess you can call me “mountain woman.” At least, that’s what my best friend calls me. And, I do like to explore places in my region that I’ve never been to before. My new-found place I will talk about today is Lost Lake, nestled in the Mount Hood National Forest, below the north face of Mount Hood. I’ve always heard from other photographers what a beautiful place it is. So here it is in all its splendor.

hood

To get to Lost Lake takes a bit of driving, since it’s an out of the way place, unless you live in the Hood River Valley area. The quickest route is via the Columbia River Gorge Highway, on the Oregon side of the river. Of course, if you live in southeast Washington, just cross over the Hood River Bridge. If you’ve never driven over the Hood River Bridge, you may find it to be a bit of a harrowing experience. It’s a long, very narrow, two-lane, steel-grated deck bridge with a low speed limit. I avoid it like the plague because it is so narrow. There are several bridge crossings over the Columbia River, and this is one that I would not recommend. From the city of Hood River, plot your course anyway you desire, but you must end up on the Dee Highway to get to Lost Lake Road. It’s always best to have a local road map handy. And since this is a big agricultural tourist area, there are plenty of free maps from the local businesses. The Hood River Valley is full of fruit orchards, a really beautiful area! I passed through orchard after orchard, just dripping with pears and cherries. The main highway through the area (Hwy 35) is dotted with fresh fruit stands. There are also lots of local wineries with samplings to enjoy, if you are into that kind of thing. If approaching from the south of the mountain, Hwy 26 to Hwy 35 would be your best bet. There is also LoLo Pass, a national forest service road from the southwest of the mountain, but I will leave that to the more adventurous traveler.

035

Anyway, back to Lost Lake. At the end of the road is Lost Lake Resort. This is a privately owned camping and resort area. An entrance fee is required. I thought that this was going to be a nice, quiet, uncrowded area, since I did not encounter much traffic on the way to it. Boy, was I in for a surprise when I arrived! I guess everyone else had arrived at the crack of dawn or that they were campers, already settled in for the weekend. I arrived around noon and was lucky to find a parking space. The lake was full of row boats, canoes, swimmers, paddle boats, etc. Along the lake’s edge, there are a lots of picnic sites. Of course, everyone of them was taken. It’s really a gorgeous lake … and the scenery … you can’t beat the view of Mount Hood looking over the lake! Absolutely stunning! And, there’s 3 miles of trails through the old-growth forests to find solitude in. There’s also a General Store, with everything you need for your camping, fishing, or picnic experience. Above the store are 4 lodge rooms for rental. The resort is a great, fun place to spend with the family during the warm, summer months. As for myself, I would love to spend some time here during the off-peak season, when things have quieted down.

For those wanting some close-up, knock-out views of Mount Hood, outside of traveling to Lost Lake Resort, here’s a photo tip. Drive south on Cooper Spur Rd from the town of Parkdale. Lots of eye-candy here while driving through fruit orchards and especially beautiful when the orchards are in bloom, mid April. The road terminates at Hwy 35.

On the way back home, I crossed over the dreaded Hood River Bridge to Hwy 14, on the Washington State side, to get to an arts festival in Trout Lake, Washington. I’ve always wanted to check it out, and this was not that far out of my way on my return trip home. Well, maybe just a little. Trout Lake is a rural community nestled in the shadow of Mount Adams. You have to drive up and away from the river gorge area, a good 20 miles or so north, along Hwy 141. Once you are in Trout Lake territory, Mount Adams looms down at you really big. You can almost reach out and touch it! Have a look.

adams

Oh, and for all your river rafters, there are popular whitewater rafting operations along the highway (Hwy 141) to Mount Adams that will give you a thrill. They operate on the wild White Salmon River, and they offer some of the best whitewater rafting in the Northwest. Also, take time to stop and check out the little, eclectic town of White Salmon.

I hope you’ve enjoyed my little armchair tour of these two mountain areas. I’m sure I’ll return to them again, soon.

©Peggy A Thompson

About northwestphotos

A long time resident of Washington State, located in the beautiful Pacific Northwest USA. I am retired and enjoy regional travel, exploring all the wondrous, natural settings that the Pacific Northwest has to offer. If you get a chance, visit my Northwestphotos Zazzle store, http://www.zazzle.com/northwestphotos.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Nature, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Mountain Hopping

  1. nice! well written… did you have a booth at the festival or just look around? I was right up the street with a booth in town at the Trout Lake Saturday Market, too bad you didn’t come on up :-)))
    I recently posted some images from Bird Creek Meadows… just over that long ridge on the bottom right in this photo. It is an amazing place.

    • Hi! I was just looking around, since I had never been to the festival before. Some very nice works of art there! I always am impressed when I go to art festivals because I usually find something I had never seen before. People are so talented and ingenious with their creativity! And yes, I did see your images from Bird Creek Meadows … lovely, as always. I have not been into the community of Trout Lake itself. I’ve meandered over towards the Glenwood area and different backroads near Mt Adams. One of these days, I will have to explore more. I thought perhaps that you would have had a booth over at the arts festival. Have you ever participated there before?

      • I had intended to set up there, but right when the paperwork had to be in I had to make a funeral trip to Utah, and I just let it all go. Maybe next year….yes there are some amazing craft people that come there.
        Glenwood area is fun to wander around in, and Trout Lake is a sweet little town with great Huckleberry shakes and pies.

        • Oh, I love huckleberries in just about anything! Huckleberry lemonade is one of my favorites … and in pancakes, as well.

        • Growing up here was wonderful, we would head up into the hills and stay for a week or so, and on the way to our favorite campground we would pick some red huckleberries (a different variety) and those would go in the pancakes next morning.

  2. Beautiful pics, Peggy!

    I’ll have to remember this place!

Thank you!

