Wine, Dine, and Art

Just returned from a casual drive to the Washington State coast from the Puget Sound area to visit a winery that’s been on my “places to visit” list. I’ve read a lot of good reviews about the Westport Winery, located just off Hwy 105, a bit south and west of Aberdeen. I arrived early, just minutes after they opened for daily business. I’ve learned over the years that planning for an early arrival at popular sites is a mighty smart idea. My strategy worked in my favor, once again. I’ll explain more, later. First, let’s have a look at the winery.

wineryThe building, itself, is an attractive site. There is a parking lot in front, with ample parking. The vineyards are located adjacent to and behind the winery. Once inside, you are treated to a most pleasant environment that consists of a gift shop, wine sampling area, bakery and dining area. One look inside the dining area instantly helped to make up my mind that I was going to have lunch here. The decor is so pretty and sophisticated. The lovely tablecloths immediately caught my eye. Also, one has a choice of two dining areas. I chose the enclosed patio area so that I could have a view of the pretty outdoor gardens. I cannot emphasize how much I was impressed by the service and the food. The food was out of this world! The menu items are representative of what fresh, Northwest cuisine is all about. And the portions? When the waitress placed my ordered dish in front of me, I commented that I would probably not be able to finish it. Besides, I had to make room for dessert, as well. The food portions were extra large and some of the best tasting I’ve ever had. For dessert, I ordered the 4-layer raspberry-almond cake. What was set down in front of me was perhaps the largest slab of cake I have ever seen. It was enough for at least two people. No problem. All my extras were boxed up for me to take home. And did I say how delectable it was? You get what you pay for here, and it’s definitely worth every penny. And the idea of arriving early? Well, let’s just say that by the time I was ready to leave, the place was starting to fill up.

Oh, there’s just one more thing. Westport Winery isn’t just a winery. Surrounding its perimeters is a garden of delights that includes not just flowers, but art exhibits, as well. It’s like an outdoor art museum with works by local artists. I’ve never seen anything quite like it before. It’s really cool and so beautifully done … a real labor of love! I highly recommend taking time to visit the winery when exploring the Pacific Northwest coastline. I know that I’ll be back again. Below are a few of the art and garden exhibits you may encounter.

021013020027034043055059060061073074077088090094093006

© Peggy A Thompson

About northwestphotos

A long time resident of Washington State, located in the beautiful Pacific Northwest USA. I am retired and enjoy regional travel, exploring all the wondrous, natural settings that the Pacific Northwest has to offer. If you get a chance, visit my Northwestphotos Zazzle store, http://www.zazzle.com/northwestphotos.
This entry was posted in Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Wine, Dine, and Art

  1. Wow, that is a cool place! I wish it was within driving distance for me.

  2. I can think of a few people who’d be scandalized by some of the sculptures in there!

    Lovely photographs, and the mention of food has me ravenous….

  3. So many beautiful pieces of art but my favourite is definitely the last one!

Thank you!

