Goodbye Summer … Hello Autumn!

Well, it’s been one, gorgeous ride through the summer, here in the Pacific Northwest, and I’ve had such wonderful times during my regional travel experiences. With the rainy season in full swing now, I will be cutting back on my travels. I am keeping my fingers crossed that October will bring a few dry days for me to get out and experience the full flavors and colors of autumn.

Last week I was able to take a leisurely drive on the Olympic Peninsula along some roads I had not traveled before. If you live in the Puget Sound, Washington area, I strongly suggest a scenic drive along the Hood Canal from Belfair to Union. To get there, travel via Hwy 16 across the Tacoma Narrows Bridge and then take Hwy 3 just after the Port Orchard exit. Travel through Belfair and then take a right on Rte 106. It is this winding, two lane road that is so very pleasant and scenic. There is hardly any traffic and you’ll find yourself mesmerized by the beautiful waters of the Hood Canal and the quaint and, sometimes, upscale homes along the water. The drive is quite long and has plenty of curves that follow the water’s shoreline. I passed by the popular Alderbrook Resort and Spa. I didn’t have time to stop to check it out, but I now know how to get there. If you want to spend some time in peace and quiet, away from the city, this is definitely a site to check out. Rte 106 ends at Hwy 101, just south of the town of Hoodsport.

Speaking of resorts and spas, another beautiful site I came across is The Resort at Port Ludlow. Here is another upscale resort located in a quiet, wooded community along Puget Sound. Take Hwy 19 on the way to Port Townsend on the Olympic Peninsula and follow the signs to Port Ludlow. The resort is located adjacent to a marina and has plenty of beautiful views of the water and the Olympic Mountains. I did manage to stop and take a few photos, but I did not go inside the resort.

Port Ludlowmarina

On my way back, I drove into and past the town of Poulsbo and stopped at the new Suquamish Museum to learn about this Native Indian tribe. Nearby the museum is the cemetery where Chief Seattle is buried. The museum reflects the traditional Big House architecture of the Coast Salish. It is really beautiful inside! I strongly suggest a visit here. They have a wonderful gift shop, as well. I will not post photos of the main interior exhibits, out of respect, but here is one photo I took of the entryway to the main exhibit hall just to give you an idea of the wonderful, aromatic cedar wood that is prominent throughout the building.

museum

As mentioned, nearby is the burial site of Chief Seattle (Chief Sealth). Take time to reflect in this most peaceful, little spot. It is just a short walking distance from the museum.

001Chief Seattle Memorial Site

A few footsteps further down the road is the Suquamish Tribe Veterans Monument. I added the following photos after I discovered it by accident, driving around the area a few weeks later. It sits on a grassy, little knoll and is very beautiful as it looks out to the Salish Sea (Puget Sound).

004002007015012008009010

© Peggy A Thompson

About northwestphotos

A long time resident of Washington State, located in the beautiful Pacific Northwest USA. I am retired and enjoy regional travel, exploring all the wondrous, natural settings that the Pacific Northwest has to offer. If you get a chance, visit my Northwestphotos Zazzle store, http://www.zazzle.com/northwestphotos.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Goodbye Summer … Hello Autumn!

  1. That gravesite is very impressive!

    The leaves are starting to turn here. Autumn’s well underway.

    • Chief Seattle’s gravesite memorial used to have a huge, wooden, ceremonial burial canoe, up on a raised platform many years ago. It was very impressive! But, it was taken down due to the fact that the wood was rotting and would eventually come crashing down, potentially injuring someone. The new one was installed, with ceremony, not long ago.

Thank you!

