My Personal Walden

I took advantage of what was probably our last spell of warm, sunny weather this past weekend here in the Puget Sound region. I returned to the Bloedel Preserve located on Bainbridge Island that I had initially visited in August. I was curious to see if the leaves had started turning. Of most interest I had in mind was the Japanese garden section of the reserve. As nature would have it, the Japanese Maple leaves had not yet morphed to their flaming red and orange colors, but other tree species were showing off their golden yellow colors.

This, being only my second time visiting the Reserve, has become a favorite spot of mine to get away from it all to experience absolute silence and to nourish the soul. I mean, the deep, dark sections of the forest area are absolutely silent. Tall, giant cedars and firs are one’s only companions. My own words alone are not enough to convey my inner thoughts and feelings as I spend a few hours of quietude in this naturalist’s place I refer to as “Walden.” Complete with its own forest, meadow, and pond, perhaps Henry David Thoreau would have delighted in this spot as he did his own Walden. So what I decided to do with this blog is to post some of the photos I recently took at the reserve, captioned with quotes by the author and the naturalist himself.

058“It’s not what you look at that matters; it’s what you see.”

125“Pursue some path, however narrow and crooked, in which you can walk with love and reverence.”

079“Heaven is under our feet as well as over our heads.”

062“What lies behind us and what lies ahead of us are tiny matters compared to what lives within us.”

112“An early-morning walk is a blessing for the whole day.”

117“There are moments when all anxiety and stated toil are becalmed in the infinite leisure and repose of nature.

051“This world is but a canvas to our imagination.”

066“Nature puts no question and answers none which we mortals ask. She has long ago taken her resolution.”

© Photos by Peggy A Thompson

About northwestphotos

A long time resident of Washington State, located in the beautiful Pacific Northwest USA. I am retired and enjoy regional travel, exploring all the wondrous, natural settings that the Pacific Northwest has to offer. If you get a chance, visit my Northwestphotos Zazzle store, http://www.zazzle.com/northwestphotos.
This entry was posted in Nature, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to My Personal Walden

  1. Gunta says:

    Such a lovely combination of words and images. Perfection.

  2. A very good combination of photos and quotes, somewhat of a change from your usual posts, but I liked it very much!

    • Thank you! I’m happy that you enjoyed the post! The comparison of the Reserve with Thoreau’s Walden was an opportunity that I just could not resist. I felt very much like I was walking in his footsteps and in his mind and heart.

  3. Looks a lovely place for a walk and carrying a camera!

  4. Splendid and totally sincere.

  5. Astonishingly beautiful.

Thank you!

