The Fading Days of Autumn

It’s the end of October; most of the leaves have reached their prime color or have fallen. As Mother Nature puts on her last fashion show for the season, I took advantage of the last dry, sunny days predicted for this week before the rains return. The colder, more dreary days of November are just around the corner. I always feel a bit melancholy after all the leaves have fallen. I mean, after all … who doesn’t like the spectacular colors of autumn? I just wish they would last a little bit longer.

I visited my favorite spot for fall color photography, again—Point Defiance Park, Tacoma. True, many of the leaves have dried up and fallen off, but some Johnny-come-latelies were just right. I felt like I had hit a goldmine!

Take for example, this Japanese Maple. I always wait for just the right time to get a great shot of this spectacularly colored maple species. There’s a few different varieties of them and some have such flaming leaf color. And their branch system is really intriguing with their creepy, twisty limbs. I like to get a silhouette shot of them. Sometimes, I actually have to crawl underneath their low hanging, umbrella-like canopy to get the shot. One has to have the bright sun shining in front of you and not allow the flash to come on. Play around with the camera angle and settings and you can get some dramatic photos. In the photo below, there is a big, ornamental rock sitting just behind the tree and it appears to be part of the tree trunk, but it’s not.

tree

tree2

Next is a series of photos I took of a Weeping Blue Spruce. Notice how I focused just on the hanging branches in front of a very red Japanese Maple directly behind it. The last image shows both species in focus.

007009013

Of particular interest in the park this time of year is a large Maple tree, whose leaves turn the most beautiful yellow. Bright sun rays along with a slight breeze cast dancing shadows through its awesome shaped limbs and branches against a clear, blue sky that make for the most awesome photo images. I lingered for some time here, taking lots of photos.

043047052053054

Ooh! Here’s another one of these creepy, but awesome looking Japanese Maple trees. I experimented again with my silhouette technique.

061066

The following images are of a variety of leaf colors and lighting situations. I had lots of fun with this. My imagination ran wild; I went for as much variety as I could think of.

084086089093097098103026029

So much for the 2013 autumn leaf show. I look forward to next year’s show of colors. Just when I thought Mother Nature gave us the best she had to offer, along comes the next autumn … and the next, … and the next …

© Peggy A Thompson

About northwestphotos

A long time resident of Washington State, located in the beautiful Pacific Northwest USA. I am retired and enjoy regional travel, exploring all the wondrous, natural settings that the Pacific Northwest has to offer. If you get a chance, visit my Northwestphotos Zazzle store, http://www.zazzle.com/northwestphotos.
This entry was posted in Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Fading Days of Autumn

  1. Stunning shots, Peggy.

    The tangled trunks of those Japanese maples certainly catches the eye!

Thank you!

