Autumn at Bloedel Reserve

The Pacific Northwest is being hammered by our first November windstorm, along with plenty of rain. Any weak leaves left on trees will, no doubt, be ripped off before all is said and done. Fortunately for me, I had the foresight to get out one last time to photograph the last of the autumn leaves the day before the storm. I had wanted to return to the beautiful Bloedel Reserve located on Bainbridge Island to view the autumn colors in the Japanese garden. The previous time I had visited, the Japanese Maple trees had not yet turned their flaming colors. I lucked out this time. They were gorgeously colored, but truly on the way out. It was cold within the forest area and the light was very dim and grey—not the best photographing conditions. Nevertheless, I was happy to have visited at this time. The following images were taken around the Japanese garden pond area.

017

019

020

026

027

037

030

039

043

045

I came across some interesting mushroom finds. Here is an orange species I found.

048

And then I came across an astonishing find of a huge cluster of mushrooms I had never come across before. These were found along the one of the forest paths in the reserve. Even one of the reserve volunteers exclaimed that she had never seen such an abundance of mushrooms before. I spent quite some time photographing them. Here’s a few images.

069

075

I took careful notice of all the flora in the forest that was undergoing changes: leaves and blooms decomposing, leaf color changes, mushrooms flourishing, etc. I took photos of all these botanicals in their natural state of being. I hope you enjoy their natural beauty as much as I did during my visit to the forest.

055

057

063

010a

081

083

061

If you enjoy my nature photography, visit my other blog posts and visit my Northwestphotos Zazzle store. If sharing photos, please give proper credit. Thank you!

© Peggy A Thompson

About northwestphotos

A long time resident of Washington State, located in the beautiful Pacific Northwest USA. I am retired and enjoy regional travel, exploring all the wondrous, natural settings that the Pacific Northwest has to offer. If you get a chance, visit my Northwestphotos Zazzle store, http://www.zazzle.com/northwestphotos.
This entry was posted in Nature, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Autumn at Bloedel Reserve

  1. Rather haunting colours for this time of year!

  2. Gunta says:

    Beautiful images! I’ve meant to visit our Shore Acres, but haven’t found the time yet. Your reserve looks far larger and has more varied specimens than our little park. The storm hasn’t reached us, but it does look threatening.
    Stay warm and dry and safe!

  3. Mjollnir says:

    An outstandingly beautiful place, perfectly captured 😀

  4. Peggy this collection is so lovely, some delightful compositions you found! I have not been there yet, someday! Glad you made it there.

  5. bluebrightly says:

    There are so many lovely images here – I can’t wait to get to the Bloedel. One of these days – and clearly the day you visited was a beautiful one, and you captured that well.

    • Thank you! Glad you enjoyed the photos. Yes, you must visit the reserve one of these days, perhaps in the spring, although anytime of year is a great time to walk through the forest. Just bundle up, since it is cold in there.

Thank you!

