Crystal Kingdom

034It’s been an amazing few days, here in the Pacific Northwest, with an unusually early, deep freeze that has dropped down from British Columbia, Canada. And, it’s not going anywhere fast. Some days have been excruciatingly brilliant with a cold sun; others start the morning with a freezing fog. I just had to take advantage of the photo opportunity with the hoarfrost this morning. One needn’t go far to observe the crystal kingdom outdoors. I dressed for the sub-freezing weather and drove a few miles to my local park gardens to see if I could spot anything special there. I have so many photos to share with you, so I think I will make this a two-part blog post.

032Frozen Maple leaves

047Various leaves partially frozen in water

102Hoarfrost around a tree seed

108Very fine ice crystals on a Hydrangea leaf

110Back sides of fallen Hydrangea leaves

103Hoarfrost on a dead evergreen branch

082A lone pine cone sitting on a frozen pond surface

080Vegetation frozen in time on a pond surface

086Koi seen swimming just below a frozen pond surface

098Crystalline formations in frozen mud

101Crystalline shards mixed with mud

104Frozen, leafy foliage

054Frost on blooming, pink Heather

© Peggy A Thompson

About northwestphotos

A long time resident of Washington State, located in the beautiful Pacific Northwest USA. I am retired and enjoy regional travel, exploring all the wondrous, natural settings that the Pacific Northwest has to offer. If you get a chance, visit my Northwestphotos Zazzle store, http://www.zazzle.com/northwestphotos.
This entry was posted in Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Crystal Kingdom

  1. Beautiful shots, Peggy. Strangely, that pine cone on the ice shot really speaks to me the most.

    • Thanks William! I kinda get some strange feelings when looking at that pine cone shot on the ice, as well. There’s a lot of texture there. And the lighting can play a big part, as well. There wasn’t much of it this morning with the dreary skies.

  2. there should be a LOVE button for these shots….really nice work!

  3. Gunta says:

    I’m envious because I had hoped to try some shots like this, but didn’t think it wise until I’ve recovered fully. But I’ll admit that I utterly loved seeing your catches. Felt bad for the Koi though.

    • Thank you! Yes, I felt for the Koi, too. There were two, really big ones in there, but there was also a baby. Don’t know if the little ones can survive such cold for long periods of time. They were all keeping very close together.

  4. Uncle Tree says:

    WoW! Peggy, from the start – great shots! 🙂 Cheerz, Uncle Tree

  5. A true naturalist’s perspective. You have a magic eye. Great stuff

Thank you!

