The Frozen Garden

This is a continuation of my previous blog post, Crystal Kingdom, but the images shown below will be more focused on the vegetation and other flora I came across while photographing in the same park during our arctic freeze that is ongoing.

055This is what I refer to as the “snake tree.” In actuality, it is a Japanese Maple, bare naked. I had a few photos of it in one of my autumn posts, with its full head of colorful leaves.

056Another angle of the Japanese Maple that stands adjacent to a frozen Japanese garden pond.

058Red berries of unknown species

060I do not know what type of plant this is, but it appears to be an evergreen species with lovely, yellow blooms.

062Lots of tree branches with silvery green moss and lichens.

072A Contorted Filbert tree with lots of fascinating, twisted, spiraling branches.

078Such bright green vegetation! This is what’s left over from the large and tall Acanthus flower. It really does stand out from the rest of the brown and dried-up vegetation. When I first spotted them, an image of bright green celery came to mind.

106It looks as though this mushroom had to snake its way through layers of leaves to finally reach the surface.

019A large, intriguing looking mushroom growing next to a giant Western Cedar tree.

023I found this cute, little guy nestled in the fallen evergreen tips from a giant Redwood tree.

120This image and the one below is of fuzzy seed pods from the Clematis flower plant. I had no idea until now!

121

022Frost on Lamb’s Ear leaves.

125What’s left of Hydrangea blooms. They look like paper at this point in their life cycle. Notice how the blue color has all but faded to sepia. They have their own beauty about them this time of year; they have somewhat of a vintage-look to them. Below are a few more images.

130133

And last, but not least, is the proverbial “winter rose.”

138

© Peggy A Thompson

About northwestphotos

A long time resident of Washington State, located in the beautiful Pacific Northwest USA. I am retired and enjoy regional travel, exploring all the wondrous, natural settings that the Pacific Northwest has to offer. If you get a chance, visit my Northwestphotos Zazzle store, http://www.zazzle.com/northwestphotos.
This entry was posted in Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Frozen Garden

  1. Uncle Tree says:

    That top pick pulled me in – the mushrooms kept me here 😉
    Twisted, distorted, tangled, and weaseled,
    Nature’s wicked creativity
    shines here.
    Peace,
    UT
    *

  2. Your photos are so beautiful and enjoyable; I always enjoy a walk through the Japanese Garden. Your photos are a real statement that you do as well.

  3. Beautiful and stark shots, Peggy. That Japanese maple looks otherworldly like that!

  4. Gunta says:

    That seed pod sure looks like a kiwi fruit.

    • Yes, it does, doesn’t it! I think that is one of the first thoughts that came to my head, as well. I didn’t even touch the seed pod to see if it was hard or soft or felt fuzzy or bristly. I was just so amazed by the sheer number of them; some were in clusters. I had no idea that Clematis could produce these amazing things. But I knew that particular plant very well, as I enjoy taking photos of its lovely, purple flowers during its blooming season.

      • Gunta says:

        Odd coincidence to add to this. When I moved into my current house, the previous owner had planted a bunch of things that needed plenty of elbow room into a tiny corner of the yard. Two were kiwi plants that were working their way into the soffits of my roof. So, the kiwi were given to a neighbor and I planted purple clematis there instead, but I’ve never seen the clematis produce kiwi looking seed pods (yet). Granted mine are only a couple of years old.

  5. bluebrightly says:

    What a nice winter (and it’s not even really winter yet!) stroll. I love that first Hydrangea photo – they are wonderful this time of year.

Thank you!

