Exploring Caverns

cave1Have you ever explored a limestone cavern? I never did until just recently. I always wanted to see one in person ever since I can remember.

I just returned from a marvelous cross-country trip via train, and one of my stops was in Virginia. My son lives in the suburbs of Washington, DC and he asked me if I wanted to visit the Luray Caverns, the largest and most popular limestone caverns in the eastern US. What a treat that was! The caverns are located in Virginia’s picturesque Shenandoah Valley.

It’s a bit difficult taking good photos down in the caverns. I used my Sony compact camera that I purchased specifically for the trip, since I wanted something lightweight and not bulky. Here’s a few nice images. I hope you enjoy them!

cave2

cave3

cave4

cave5

cave6The Blue Pool

cave7

cave8

cave9

cave10

 

All images by Peggy A Thompson

 

 

About northwestphotos

A long time resident of Washington State, located in the beautiful Pacific Northwest USA. I am retired and enjoy regional travel, exploring all the wondrous, natural settings that the Pacific Northwest has to offer. If you get a chance, visit my Northwestphotos Zazzle store, http://www.zazzle.com/northwestphotos.
This entry was posted in Nature, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Exploring Caverns

  1. Great pictures! I went there in 1976.

  2. These are beautiful shots!

    Caves have always fascinated me.

  3. Stunning photos, Peggy. I’ve been in several such cave, both in England and South Africa, but have yet to visit one in the US. I’d love to see this for myself, one day. 🙂

Thank you!

