Air and Space Museum Tour

Continuing along with my romp across the country this month, I was invited to spend some time with my newlywed son, who lives in the Washington, DC area. I had never been to DC before, and I must say that I was pleasantly surprised with how nice the area is. I was given a whirlwind tour of sorts in our nation’s capital and managed to visit a few of the Smithsonian museums. The weather was still very much cold and, to our disappointment, none of the cherry blossoms were in bloom at the end of March.

One of the highlights of my touring around the DC area was a visit to the Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center, which is the Smithsonian Air and Space Museum’s annex, located next to the Washington Dulles International Airport. It’s a gigantic hangar filled with lots of goodies from the past and present. There is also a mock air traffic control tower that one can take an elevator to and watch the planes come and go at the airport. Pretty neat stuff! Come along with me as I show you a few of these marvelous flying machines, along with the retired Space Shuttle Discovery.

DSC00200Lockheed SR-71 Blackbird

DSC00206Pan Am – Clipper Flying Cloud

DSC00208Interior shot of various aircraft

DSC00209Boeing B-29 Superfortress – Enola Gay (front view)

DSC00211Boeing B-29 Superfortress – Enola Gay (lateral view)

DSC00214Space Shuttle Discovery (front angle)

DSC00218Space Shuttle Discovery (rear angle)

DSC00207Air France Concorde

 

All photos by Peggy A Thompson

About northwestphotos

A long time resident of Washington State, located in the beautiful Pacific Northwest USA. I am retired and enjoy regional travel, exploring all the wondrous, natural settings that the Pacific Northwest has to offer. If you get a chance, visit my Northwestphotos Zazzle store, http://www.zazzle.com/northwestphotos.
This entry was posted in Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Air and Space Museum Tour

  1. This is the sort of museum I’d be very, very happy in. We have an aviation museum here, but this one’s larger!

  2. samacwns says:

    Jealous! I would love to see that in person someday…thanks for sharing the pictures! 🙂

  3. What a fascinating museum, Peggy. I would have loved to ride in Concorde. 🙂

Thank you!

