Sightseeing by Train

This will be the last in my latest series of travel posts revolving around my recent train trip across the country. If one has the time and inclination, it’s the most relaxing way to see America’s beautiful landscape. Of course, there will be areas that one will not be able to see when the train is passing through during the night hours. But if you return via the same route, there will be chances to see some (not all) of those areas during the early morning hours.

Picking up from my last stop at Sacramento, traveling east, I transferred to the Zephyr, Amtrak’s route across the heartland, and one of it’s most scenic train routes. You’ll cross the East Sierras into Nevada, travel through Utah and Colorado, Nebraska, Iowa, and continue into Illinois, ending up at Chicago. I have traveled this route once before during the middle of winter, but I much prefer it during spring/summer, and that is because there is so much more color to be seen in the landscapes, especially the red rocks of Colorado. Here are a few photos I snapped from the train.

DSC00124DSC00136DSC00097DSC00111DSC00116DSC00122DSC00132DSC00138

On my return trip west, I took Amtrak’s Empire Builder, from Chicago to Seattle. This is another outstanding, scenic route that travels through the northern states.

It’s always a pleasure traveling through my residential state of Washington. There is such varied topography and climate as one crosses through the state. And, of course, the forests, rivers, and Cascade Mountains are a wonder to behold. And, it was so nice to see green and colorful flowers, since I saw none of that during my stay on the east coast. What a bummer! Anyway, I clicked off a few photos before arriving at Seattle. You can see the blooming apple orchards and snow covered Cascades.

DSC00288DSC00289DSC00290DSC00294

And that, dear friends, brings me to the end of my train travel journey. I hope you enjoyed the armchair tour!

All photos property of Peggy A Thompson

About northwestphotos

A long time resident of Washington State, located in the beautiful Pacific Northwest USA. I am retired and enjoy regional travel, exploring all the wondrous, natural settings that the Pacific Northwest has to offer. If you get a chance, visit my Northwestphotos Zazzle store, http://www.zazzle.com/northwestphotos.
This entry was posted in Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Sightseeing by Train

  1. Achingly beautiful landscape shots, Peggy, and such a rich variety!

  2. Gunta says:

    Wonderful images. Taking the train cross country is something I’ve always wanted to do, but I can’t take the dog, so I drive. It’s getting more tiring to do that trek the older I get. Might have to find a place to board the dog, though that’s a really tough one to contemplate. Have you ever gone across up in Canada?

    • I have never taken the train in Canada, although I would love to do that someday, as well. Would love to see the Canadian Rockies and their respective parks. I know what you mean about long driving treks getting more challenging. You’d be amazed at how many seniors are traveling by train! I can empathize with you having to contemplate boarding your beloved dog, as I once had a dog many years ago. I never went on any long, extended trips back then. That was the only drawback on having a pet. But then again, what amount of personal traveling could ever replace the amount of free and loyal love given to you by your pet?

  3. Gunta says:

    My very first dog and I did the drive clear across Canada back in 1979 in a VW bug. It was heaven. We camped in Jasper and checked out Banff, then drove around the Gaspe Peninsula, then took the ferry from Nova Scotia over to Maine. I have so many fond memories of that trip. The Canadian Rockies are pure magic. I wonder how much has changed in the decades since then.

    • Wow! What a trip that must have been! I’m jealous! I’m sure some things have changed: some for the better and, maybe, some for the worse. Those were the good ole’ days, eh?

      • Gunta says:

        Yes, they were the good ole’ days. Wish I could do a repeat, but no sleeping in tents for this old bod anymore. I blogged about the trip back in Feb 2012 (http://wp.me/pXX8J-Ok) I spread it out over several posts. I’ve searched and can’t find the one where I posted the shot of my Siberian Husky and the tent at the campsite in Jasper… (I really need to go back and organize, but somehow I never complete that task once started.) 🙄

Thank you!

