Giants Among the Garden

It’s June, here in the Pacific Northwest, and gardens are full of beauty and color. I made one more trip to the Rhododendron Species Garden in Federal Way, Washington this week because I heard that the Giant Himalayan Lilies were in bloom. These spectacular flowers grow on very tall, thick stalks, with clusters of blooms near the top. The flowers are white with violet centers that streak outwards, and their scent is heavily perfumed; just wonderful! Here are some images:

016030019022

Most of the rhododendrons are done blooming for now in the garden. The very popular Blue Poppies are pretty much finished, as well. I managed to find a few, still standing, glimmering in the sunlight.

032Himalayan Blue Poppy

In this large garden, there are many trails that loop around smaller gardens, such as a native garden, woodland garden, alpine garden, pond garden. There is an area dedicated to species of ferns, as well.

In the alpine garden, I came across these lovely, white Campanula blooms (Harebells).

039Harebells

I came across other very lovely flowering plants, but I do not know their names, but I will post their images here.

044046001

In the glass conservatory, there are still a few species of rhododendrons blooming. Here is one that is especially beautiful with their tubular, white blooms.

011

I feel a little bit sad that most of the blooming is finished for now. But still, the garden is a special place to visit any time of year to take a stroll. In the autumn, the many deciduous and ornamental trees show off their colors. I’m sure I will not miss that show!

© Peggy A Thompson

About northwestphotos

A long time resident of Washington State, located in the beautiful Pacific Northwest USA. I am retired and enjoy regional travel, exploring all the wondrous, natural settings that the Pacific Northwest has to offer. If you get a chance, visit my Northwestphotos Zazzle store, http://www.zazzle.com/northwestphotos.
This entry was posted in Nature, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Giants Among the Garden

  1. ALWAYS A DELIGHT TO VIEW YOUR VISIONS.

  2. Wow! Gorgeous colours, Peggy!

  3. We are so fortunate to have such treasures as the Rhododendron Species Garden here in the Pacific Northwest. I bought a Giant Himalayan Lily bulb at the garden show last year so I am looking forward to producing blooms that look likes those in your gorgeous photos…Time will tell if I can hold back the slugs.

    • Charlie, I wish you best of luck in producing some gorgeous Himalayan Lilies, like the ones I saw at the Rhododendron Species Garden. I am thinking that there are variations in that species, because I’ve seen some other Himalayan Lilies at our Point Defiance Park garden that are slightly different in the shape of the bloom … more of a true trumpet shaped lily. The fragrance is just heavenly!

  4. Gunta says:

    That blue poppy still remains my favorite. Such a gorgeous, striking blue you rarely see in nature (aside from the sky).

    • Yes, that Blue Poppy color is my favorite, too! I was lucky to find the last few that were still thriving, just barely. So many beautiful flowers are in bloom for only a short period of time. I feel blessed that I was one of those who was able to take in the views during their bloom times.

Thank you!

