Dog Days of Summer

056View of the Cascades and Commencement Bay

YES! It’s summer, finally! Here in the Pacific Northwest, summer typically does not start until mid July for us. June is typically gloomy and cool. But it seems that most of that is behind us, and much drier days are ahead. Yes, we do have a dry season here and it can be quite severe some years. The scenic image above shows the blue waters of Puget Sound and the Cascade Mountains in the distance. Below are a few more images I snapped as I drove through the 5-Mile Drive in Point Defiance Park, Tacoma.

042046055

Before exiting the park, I stopped by the flower gardens, as I usually do and snapped a few images of the ever changing blossoms. It’s amazing to find new blooms and new species flowering at all different times of the season. I came across this most unusual bloom I have never seen before. It’s quite striking and little bit scary looking with it extended tentacle-like petals. After a bit of research and inquiries, I found out that it is a Peruvian Daffodil. It’s also called the Basket Flower. Have a look!

014Peruvian Daffodil

Another flowering plant that is quite common this time of year is the Hosta. I normally see them with pale purple or white blossoms. Here’s the pale purple variety.

008Hosta Plant

Also, I noticed the Asiatic Lilies are out in full bloom. Here’s a striking orange variety, glowing in the sunlight.

071Asiatic Lily

Now, here’s a most unusual flower species if I ever saw one. It’s very large; it’s stalk is very thick. I have no idea what it is. I do remember seeing it last year. I suppose it’s beautiful in its own way, but I think it’s rather ugly. Perhaps it is some sort of giant lily. I was halfway thinking that it had a bad odor, but when I got up close to it, I could not detect a fragrance.

036

And lastly, I came across a large swath of Black Eyed Susans. All of them were of the yellow variety except for one that was two-toned. It was really beautiful!

038Black Eyed Susan

I will continue making my rounds of the flower gardens to see what new blooms I will encounter next time.  Until then, happy gardening!

© Peggy A Thompson

About northwestphotos

A long time resident of Washington State, located in the beautiful Pacific Northwest USA. I am retired and enjoy regional travel, exploring all the wondrous, natural settings that the Pacific Northwest has to offer. If you get a chance, visit my Northwestphotos Zazzle store, http://www.zazzle.com/northwestphotos.
This entry was posted in Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Dog Days of Summer

  1. Beautiful, particularly the bay!

  2. Gorgeous photos, I do so love the sound, the ocean, and our mountains.

Thank you!

