Summer Garden Days

022

I really must give plenty of kudos to the gardeners who maintain our beautiful gardens at Point Defiance Park, Tacoma. It never ceases to amaze me how each summer they put on a glorious, colorful display of flowers. And, the arrangements are planned with creativity and exactness. Take for example, in the above image, the placement of different floral species. The colors and arrangements are so eye catching! You see the orange Marigolds that form a border along the flagstones. Behind them are patches of pink, red, and white Begonias. Behind the Begonias are the taller, golden yellow Black Eyed Susans. Way in the back of the image are tall, tropical-looking, orange Canna Lilies.

Here are several shots of different flower species. I used various focusing and composition techniques to create a bit of interest in the images.

008White Coneflowers (Echinacea species)

004

018White Stargazer Lily

I came across these Ligularia in a shaded area that had a beam of sunlight shining directly on the yellow blossoms. I took advantage of the lighting situation and was pleasantly surprised with the results.

010

028Trumpet Flower (Angel’s Trumpet)

 Here are some shots of beautiful, bright Black Eyed Susans.

040055061060059

The last two images are slightly different from each other. The first image I focused on the whole area. The second image I focused on the flowers in the forefront, blurring the pink begonias in the background. Which do you prefer?

© Peggy A Thompson

About northwestphotos

A long time resident of Washington State, located in the beautiful Pacific Northwest USA. I am retired and enjoy regional travel, exploring all the wondrous, natural settings that the Pacific Northwest has to offer. If you get a chance, visit my Northwestphotos Zazzle store, http://www.zazzle.com/northwestphotos.
This entry was posted in Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Summer Garden Days

  1. Very nice, as usual. BTW, I like the blurred shot because it helps me to focus on the main object.

  2. Beautiful! Thumbs up for gardeners!

  3. I think I prefer the first, between the two takes. Beautiful flowers, Peggy!

  4. samacwns says:

    I love this whole post! So much color! But as for your question, I prefer the 2nd picture. I like the focus being on one part of the picture as opposed to the whole.

  5. Beautiful images, Peggy. 🙂 I prefer the first of the last two shots.

Thank you!

