Visit to the Washington Coast

093Welcome to Westport, Washington: home of a popular winery, cranberry bogs, tourism, and charter fishing!

I visited the Westport Winery for the first time last fall and was so impressed that I promised myself that I would return the following summer when the weather was warmer and the sky was blue. As many Pacific Northwest coastal residents will tell you—there are many grey, overcast cool days here, even in the summer! I had my sunny chance this past weekend and went for it. As stated, this is a popular winery in Western Washington, and worth the drive. This is a winery, restaurant, bakery, gift shop, and art garden all rolled into one. Check their event schedule for lots of weekend fun activities throughout the year. As well, you can get driving directions here.

031

064

079

074

053

You’ll want to spend lots of time outside in the art gardens and strolling flower gardens interspersed with local artist’s creations. There’s a lot of area to cover. Check out the images below.

057

045

041

039

048

 

077070

108

092

088

103

102

101

There’s so much more to experience! A word of advise, though, if you want to have the restaurant experience—arrive early for lunch. I have never had dinner here, but I would expect even more people at this that of day. The food is fantastic—and so are the desserts!

After a visit to the winery, continue down the road. You’re in cranberry country! Along the way, you’ll pass an Ocean Spray cranberry plant. During the month of October is cranberry harvest time, and each autumn a cranberry festival takes place in the region. (The other major cranberry growing region is in the southwest corner of the state on the Long Beach Peninsula.) As well, there are a couple of specialty food drive-ins along the road that offer a variety of items, such as smoked sausages, oysters, and salmon. These venues are always fun to check out. You never know what kinds of goodies you will find!

There is a spur off the highway that leads to the small community of Westport. The road ends at the boat and fishing marinas. It’s a little tourist area full of the usual gift shops, eateries, art galleries, and a museum. The strip runs along the marina. There are hotels/motels in the area if you plan to spend a few days fishing, relaxing, etc. This area is noted for its fishing charter boats if you want to try your luck at hauling in the big fish. At the end of one side of the marina drive is a viewing tower to check out the ocean, beach, and marina view.

117

 

© Peggy A Thompson

 

 

 

 

About northwestphotos

A long time resident of Washington State, located in the beautiful Pacific Northwest USA. I am retired and enjoy regional travel, exploring all the wondrous, natural settings that the Pacific Northwest has to offer. If you get a chance, visit my Northwestphotos Zazzle store, http://www.zazzle.com/northwestphotos.
This entry was posted in Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Visit to the Washington Coast

  1. Andrea says:

    The winery looks like a fun, quirky place to visit! Thanks for sharing your trip and photos.

    • Thanks for stopping by! Glad you enjoyed the armchair tour! I visited your blog and enjoyed your posts. So glad you were able to visit the Pacific Northwest! You certainly covered a lot of ground. Great, isn’t it?

      • Andrea says:

        The Pacific Northwest is truly spectacular and I fell in love with it the first time I visited. Unfortunately I can’t make it there that often from Ohio so I love seeing pictures!

  2. samacwns says:

    I love Westport! I’ve never stopped by the Winery, but I love the town itself. Thanks for the pictures. 😀

  3. That is a marvelous place, Peggy! The chess pieces particularly appeal to me. I’d be happy wandering around there.

  4. The garden art is such fun, love the chess set and the glass.

  5. Loved all the garden art! The colors were outstanding!

  6. BriarCraft says:

    I head to Westport for fresh albacore (August) to can and fresh cranberries to freeze (October). I always make it a full day trip, with my camera, and do some exploring, but not being a wine drinker, I have always driven right past the Westport Winery. Now I know, thanks to you, there is something there besides wine, I may have lunch there or buy some baked goods, just so I can wander their grounds. I’m always happy to find a unique photo op and/or blog fodder. Thanks for sharing your fun daytrip!

    • Thanks for commenting! I am not a wine drinker either, but am always drawn to places with good food and things to do. You don’t have to buy anything to peruse and take photos of the grounds and artwork. The owners are more than happy for you to visit at anytime.

  7. What awonderful place to visit, Peggy. The sculptures are such fun, and I love the old boat filled with flowers. 🙂

    • Thanks for taking my armchair tour of the Westport Winery. Yes, it is a really fun place to visit and to eat. There is such a variety of creative art around the gardens, and I’m sure there is something for everyone to enjoy!

Thank you!

