Sunny Sunflower – The Flower of August

August time is Sunflower time! I have always wanted to take photos of a beautiful Sunflower farm, but have not been able to find any around where I live. I have to settle for the occasional few blooms here and there. A few days ago, I came across a residence that had Red Sunflowers. I never had the occasion to photograph Sunflowers of this variety and I was quite excited to get up close to some. Unfortunately, the sun was not in favorable position to get the correct exposure, but in the end I was pleasantly surprised with the results (as many times we photographers are). The dark reds of the flower petals worked out quite nicely with the bright background, even more so for black and white photography. Here are the images I kept.

059

066

060

065

Now, here is the same image in black and white. Notice how well the contrasting light and colors work together.

065a

Here is another black and white image I fancy.

061

And lastly, here are a few images of other Sunflower varieties with mixed colors.

056

069a

All photos property of Peggy A. Thompson

About northwestphotos

A long time resident of Washington State, located in the beautiful Pacific Northwest USA. I am retired and enjoy regional travel, exploring all the wondrous, natural settings that the Pacific Northwest has to offer. If you get a chance, visit my Northwestphotos Zazzle store, http://www.zazzle.com/northwestphotos.
This entry was posted in Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Sunny Sunflower – The Flower of August

  1. I’ve never seen red sunflowers before. Beautiful!

  2. Love sunflowers so I know I am easy, but the photos are beautiful.

  3. Great photos, Peggy. I love them all, but the 2nd and 3rd images are my favourites. 🙂

    • Thank you for your comments! So glad you enjoyed the Sunflowers. Interesting that you favorite the 2nd and 3rd images. I like the 3rd one quite a bit because it reminds me of a pinwheel. I can just imagine it spinning around! LOL

Thank you!

