A Step Back in Time

039Grays River Covered Bridge

A few days after returning from my trip to Oregon, I made a separate trip to the southwest Washington coastline, and on my return home I took a different route, one that I had not traveled in many years. It runs along the Columbia River for some miles and then slightly inland. It is a very scenic, rural highway drive. Along the way, I noticed a sign alerting drivers to a historic covered bridge at the next turn. I could not resist the opportunity to get a photo of this bridge. What a treat!

Upon returning home, I did a bit of research on covered bridges in Washington State and found that the one I visited was originally built in 1905, and then rebuilt in 1989. The original bridge was built by a local dairy farmer. Alongside the bridge is a tiny park (Ahlberg Park) with a gravel parking area and picnic table for the locals to enjoy the bridge and the Grays River upon which it sits over.

I processed my images in sepia tone to convey a vintage look. I hope you enjoy them.

041

“The grave is but a covered bridge that leads from light to light, through a brief darkness.” — Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

Images © Peggy A Thompson, 2014

About northwestphotos

A long time resident of Washington State, located in the beautiful Pacific Northwest USA. I am retired and enjoy regional travel, exploring all the wondrous, natural settings that the Pacific Northwest has to offer. If you get a chance, visit my Northwestphotos Zazzle store, http://www.zazzle.com/northwestphotos.
This entry was posted in Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Step Back in Time

  1. Love the sepia idea. You are superbly creative in your own right.
    .

  2. Love the quote, Peggy. Magical photos of the covered bridge. 🙂

  3. This one has real character. There are a few of them here and there in my parts, including one that’s about a half hour drive away.

Thank you!

