Turning Leaves

008

More photos of fall colors and turning leaves I took this week. I’ve had to literally run between the raindrops to accomplish my tasks. October has gone down as one of the wettest in Seattle’s history: 6.77 inches of rain. It’s been warmer than usual, as well, thanks to warmer than usual Pacific Ocean currents that affect our weather. We had zero days below average temperature for the month. And the outlook for this winter is warmer and dryer than normal.

Here’s one of my favorite Japanese Maple trees that I like to monitor during the fall. It can get to take on some fantastic, flaming colors.

006

Here is a photo I composed to show the gradients of colors in the leaves.

011

When walking around the tree, I found an area that was not as full with leaves and that exposed its beautiful, twisted trunk and branches. I had to squat down and hunker a bit underneath some branches to photograph the heart of this beautiful tree. The whole idea here is to try to get as much of a silhouette effect as possible. NEVER allow the camera’s flash to fire when doing this. The flash will cancel out any silhouette effect. Also, make sure that the majority of light upon the subject is in front of it. Sometimes we just have to make the best of a situation that presents us at that moment in time.

016

I crept in a bit closer underneath the tree’s canopy and shot off a few more photos, making sure to keep the camera’s flash off. The colors in the background beyond the tree came out a bit on the cool side, but I rather fancy the effect. Adds a bit more interest, don’t you think?

017021

Here’s a few more images of some other gnarly looking Japanese Maple trees.

005

023

When walking around, I like to look down at the ground a lot. One never knows what art Mother Nature may have created. I like to photograph nature exactly as I find it. Here are a few examples.

027

038

Here’s a work of nature’s art that pleasantly surprised me. Within the branches of a Maple tree, I found a twig of little Oak leaves. How amazing! I wondered how it arrived there.

052

I came across these plants around a garden pond area that are large and have big, glossy leaves. From the thick stalks grow these rather strange-looking, white clusters of blooms that only appear in the fall. I do not know what they are. Perhaps someone reading this can help me out. Here is a photo of the blooms.

026

A few more autumn leaves pics.

025

050

034040

 All photos property of Peggy A. Thompson

About northwestphotos

A long time resident of Washington State, located in the beautiful Pacific Northwest USA. I am retired and enjoy regional travel, exploring all the wondrous, natural settings that the Pacific Northwest has to offer. If you get a chance, visit my Northwestphotos Zazzle store, http://www.zazzle.com/northwestphotos.
This entry was posted in Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Turning Leaves

  1. Reblogged this on graceharman27 and commented:
    Love your blog!

  2. alesiablogs says:

    Love the photos! I love living here in Seattle! I know this might sound strange, but the rain did not bother me much this year even if it was a historical downpour. I attribute that attitude to us having such a wonderful summer. Alesia

    • Thank you! I have to agree with your statement about all the rain not bothering me so much. You’re right about the wonderful summer we had, plus I think it’s because we’ve had such a mild autumn, so far. Better than the fog!

  3. Mesmerizing and beautiful shots! I like the twists of the trunks and branches.

  4. Really lovely photos, Peggy. Your tree silhouettes are outstanding, and I love the ‘eye’ peeping out from the last of those three. In fact, I can see many faces in that one, and the bottom part looks like a seated human form. Maybe I’m being too fanciful. 🙂

    • Thank you! Yes, I can see that eye you are referring to, and the seated human form. You have a very artful eye! Amazing what one can visualize in images. In my opinion, the Japanese Maple is one of the most intriguing forms of natural art there is!

Thank you!

