On the Autumn Trail

016aGolden autumn leaves of a Japanese Maple

Yes, I’ve been out again on the autumn trail, literally between raindrops. This time, I returned to the Rhododendron Species Botanical Garden, located in Federal Way, Washington. This is my first time visiting the garden in the fall season. There are so many different varieties of trees, plants, flowers, and ferns on the 20 plus acres. Turned out that I was the only one in the garden Sunday morning. The damp earth and woodland smells filled my nostrils. I love the earthy smells of the forest!

Did you know that the garden is home to one of the largest collections of Rhododendrons and Azaleas in the world? There are over 450 species from North America, Europe, Asia, and Australia. One can visit the Rutherford Conservatory on site to view the many tropical varieties that bloom throughout the year. I was very fortunate on this trip to witness some very special blooms. Here are some photos of these tropical Vireya Rhododendrons.

053

057

062

067

069

071

Here are a few other photos of which I am not sure what flower species they are. I know that the conservatory also houses orchids, so perhaps that is what these are. The second and third photos are of some really exquisite blooms. Silly me did not inquire as to what species they are.

064

059

072

I have many more autumn photos of the garden, but they are of trees and leaves, and I would prefer to blog those photos in a separate post. Stay tuned!

 

All photos property of Peggy A. Thompson

About northwestphotos

A long time resident of Washington State, located in the beautiful Pacific Northwest USA. I am retired and enjoy regional travel, exploring all the wondrous, natural settings that the Pacific Northwest has to offer. If you get a chance, visit my Northwestphotos Zazzle store, http://www.zazzle.com/northwestphotos.
This entry was posted in Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On the Autumn Trail

  1. Beautiful colours… particularly that last one.

Thank you!

