On the Autumn Trail – Part II

009

As promised, I will post more photos that I took recently during my nature walk at the Rhododendrons Species Botanical Garden. I was amazed at just how diverse this garden area, nestled away in a wooded setting, is. Many species of trees had already dropped most of their leaves, and many were just starting their autumn color, in particular, the various types of Japanese Maples. They are the autumn stars of the show; their colors take one’s breath away. Here’s a small, potted Japanese Maple near the conservatory that is a real show-stopper!

039

A few steps away from the red leaves was a pot of brilliant orange Japanese Maple leaves.

073

But the real treasures were to be found along the trails of the 22 acres of the wooded garden. It may be autumn, but I found these fascinating, tall stalks of seed pods left over from the Giant Himalayan Lilies that bloomed earlier in the year.

100

Here is a real show-stopper of sorts that I happened to catch out of the corner of my eye – a fir tree wrapped with vines of magenta colored leaves. Wow!

134

Below, I will share with you many images that exemplify the wondrous plant species, colors, and textures that the garden has to offer this time of year.

020

029

075

084

092

094

102

103

109

143

139

156

149

111

110

113

118

121

I spent as much time in the garden as possible until the skies became very grey and overcast. It was time to put down the camera and head home before the rain drops fell. There was one last image I took of a gorgeous tree full of golden leaves. The dull lighting made for a not-so-nice photo. But I wanted to remember it as I saw it, anyway.

125

All photos property of Peggy A. Thompson

About northwestphotos

A long time resident of Washington State, located in the beautiful Pacific Northwest USA. I am retired and enjoy regional travel, exploring all the wondrous, natural settings that the Pacific Northwest has to offer. If you get a chance, visit my Northwestphotos Zazzle store, http://www.zazzle.com/northwestphotos.
Image | This entry was posted in Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to On the Autumn Trail – Part II

  1. That deep red in the second shot really appeals to me!

  2. Thom Hickey says:

    Thanks. Some wonderfully eye arresting shots here. Keen to make more visits. Regards from Thom at the immortal jukebox (drop a nickel).

    • Thank you very much Thom for stopping by. Likewise, you have an absolutely amazing blog with a sharp pen and mind along with some of the best writing skills I’ve come across. I love music and will have to take time (a lot of time) to read the many excellently written blog entries and, of course, the music, as well. Cheers!

Thank you!

