Holy Bonsai!

I recently picked up a free pamphlet at one of the regional gardens in the Puget Sound area…you know…the type of free info that tourists whiz right by all the time. This time my interest was piqued and I grabbed one titled, “Garden Lover’s Guide to the Pacific N.W.” I stuffed it into my purse and went about my business. At home, I perused through the pamphlet and suddenly realized what all I had been missing. Those free brochures and pamphlets are there for a reason. And boy, where my eyes opened!

I’m going to tell you about a garden of all gardens, if you are interested in the art of bonsai, as well as oriental gardens. Did I mention esoteric gift shops? More on that, later.

Welcome to Elandan Gardens, tucked away in a cranny along the shores of Puget Sound, located just off Hwy 16 as one enters Bremerton. Those that live and commute in the region have probably whizzed by the gardens time after time, just like me. I’ve seen the sign, but was always in a hurry en route to somewhere else. Reading about the gardens in the pamphlet gave me pause to plan a trip to the gardens. And, so I did. The autumn colors of the Japanese Maples in the gardens are still flaming. That is what I primarily came for—the colors. Below are photos of the beautiful autumn colors in and surrounding the gardens. I will not post images of the many bonsai specimens. There is an entry fee for the Bonsai Museum. Let’s just say that it is very well worth the drive to experience. I’ll be back. That’s for sure.

Upon driving into the garden entrance, one is greeted by a flaming Japanese Maple tree surrounded by Buddha figures.

007

006

015

026

030

053

Before walking into the Bonsai Museum and Gift Store, one can walk along a path leading to the shoreline with landscaped area that has stone sculptures and works of natural art.

041a

049

To get to the Bonsai Museum, one has to enter the gift store. The gardens are located outside the opposite side of the store. I was taken aback by the size of the gift store. It has several rooms full of all sorts of esoteric antiques and imported items from the Far East. Be forewarned. One could spend a few hours in here!

And now for the bonsai garden. I don’t know how to describe this ‘garden of Eden.’ Bonsai master, Dan Robinson, was out and about in the garden greeting and talking to visitors. What a gentleman! What can I say? You just have to see this place! Get to it before all the leaves fall.

060

064

065

090

100

107

110

120

122

039

153

All photos property of Peggy A Thompson

About northwestphotos

A long time resident of Washington State, located in the beautiful Pacific Northwest USA. I am retired and enjoy regional travel, exploring all the wondrous, natural settings that the Pacific Northwest has to offer. If you get a chance, visit my Northwestphotos Zazzle store, http://www.zazzle.com/northwestphotos.
This entry was posted in Nature, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Holy Bonsai!

  1. I would enjoy it a lot there!

  2. Fabulous photos, Peggy. I would love to go there, especially in early autumn. 🙂

  3. Gunta says:

    What fabulous colors and I like the Buddhas. It’s funny, isn’t it, how we often miss some of the treasures right in our own backyard. This was certainly quite the find. Thanks for sharing it.

    • Thanks, Gunta! Yes, there are lots of Buddhas at the garden, and they are available for purchase. Might I dare say that visiting this garden of delights was a one of a kind experience. Yes, local treasures abound. One must go and seek them out.

  4. Oh Peggy, what a stupendous place! Lovely photos documenting the ornate grounds, especially that awesome orange red maple from outside and then inside.. dreamy! You caught the colors just right.

Thank you!

