… and then the sky smiled

Amidst all our cloudy, rainy, dreary days of the winter, there happens upon a time a parting of the clouds, with a glow from one end of the sky shooting brilliant rays of light toward the opposite end of the sky. I happened to turn my head toward the window at this exact moment in time and knew exactly what was forming in the heavens. I rushed to the window, and, lo and behold, my intuition was spot on. I beheld in my sights an intensely colored rainbow, of which I had not been privy to witness in quite some time. In fact, a second, more faintly colored rainbow was forming alongside the primary one. I quickly grabbed my camera and darted outside to capture this Kodak moment. What luck!

020

012Be thou the rainbow in the storms of life. The evening beam that smiles the clouds away, and tints tomorrow with prophetic ray. –Lord Byron

About northwestphotos

A long time resident of Washington State, located in the beautiful Pacific Northwest USA. I am retired and enjoy regional travel, exploring all the wondrous, natural settings that the Pacific Northwest has to offer. If you get a chance, visit my Northwestphotos Zazzle store, http://www.zazzle.com/northwestphotos.
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to … and then the sky smiled

  1. Magnificent!

    Happy New Year, Peggy!

  2. Ingrid says:

    It’s been dreary and rainy along the Texas Gulf Coast as well. I’m looking forward to some sunshine…. soon, I hope. Lucky you to capture that beautiful rainbow 🙂

  3. Gunta says:

    Great catch indeed. This is the time of year to be watching for these delights. The tough part is catching the moment.

  4. So gorgeous, Peggy. 🙂 Happy New Year to you.

Thank you!

