Blue Poppy Day

137

It was the annual Blue Poppy Day at the Rhododendron Species Botanical Garden, in Federal Way, Washington, this past weekend. I attended last year, as well, and I can say with confidence that this year’s event was bigger and better along with a larger attendance. Lots of artists and vendors along with wandering musicians were on hand. And, let’s not forget all the flowers in bloom that put on a colorful show. It was a fun time for all! The weather was a bit on the cool side, with grey skies, but this worked out very well for the floral photographers, including myself. The spotlight was on the Himalayan Blue Poppy (Meconopsis lingholm), as it usually is in mid-May and will continue to bloom throughout June, depending on weather conditions. Here are some images I shot of the lovely, blue turquoise flower. Enjoy!

125

126

141

116

119

133

138

145

146

If you enjoy my Blue Poppy images, I have some available as several products at my Northwestphotos Zazzle store. I will be adding some of the above images, as well. If you would like to order a product with one of the above images in full resolution (without the copyright name added), just send me an email through this blog site or my Zazzle store and I would be happy to make the product available for purchase. Thanks for visiting and, as always, I appreciate your support!

 

All photos copyright of Peggy A Thompson

About northwestphotos

A long time resident of Washington State, located in the beautiful Pacific Northwest USA. I am retired and enjoy regional travel, exploring all the wondrous, natural settings that the Pacific Northwest has to offer. If you get a chance, visit my Northwestphotos Zazzle store, http://www.zazzle.com/northwestphotos.
This entry was posted in Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Blue Poppy Day

  1. Beautiful pictures! The blue is so vibrant!

  2. LaNae says:

    Beautiful! We’re headed to Seattle this weekend and your pictures make me thing that a stop in Federal Way is in order. Thanks for sharing!

    • Excellent! Let me tell you the easiest way to get there going north on the freeway. Don’t follow the driving instructions given on the website. It gives the same directions for both north and south approaches. The south approach should be this way: Take the freeway exit to Hwy 18 towards Auburn and then take the first exit once on Hwy 18. That will be Weyerhauser Way S. Make a left at the traffic light at the end of the exit ramp. Continue on Weyerhauser Way until you come to a traffic circle. Stay on Weyerhauser Way past the traffic circle. Make the first left a little down the road just past the traffic circle. There is a sign indicating the gardens. Follow that road for a ways until you get to a parking area on the right side of road. I believe it says “West Parking Lot.” This is all Weyerhauser property. Follow the trail and crosswalk across from the parking lot. The garden is up a trail in a lovely wooded setting. The easiest way to get back to the freeway is to backtrack the same way you came. Admission fee to the garden is $8.

  3. They are such pretty flowers!

  4. Gunta says:

    These flowers are the most amazing color. I love seeing your photos of them when they bloom. Thanks for sharing.

  5. Pingback: No Need to Adjust the Television: Blue Poppies | Cook, Drink, Hike

  6. Pingback: A Few of My Favorite Blogs | Wishing My Life Away

Thank you!

