Highlights of a Victorian Stumpery

I was trying to decide whether to visit Mount Rainier National Park today or visit my favorite garden, the Rhododendron Species Botanical Garden. The cloud cover was perfect for photographing flowers, but I also like interesting clouds filling up my landscape images. The more I kept looking at the weather report and the changing cloud cover outside, the more I kept thinking that I’d better stay closer to home. So I opted for the garden. I was not to be disappointed! I had thought that perhaps all the spring blooms had faded away, but I was wrong. There are a lot of late bloomers still, mainly the Azaleas, and they are so colorful! There are also still quite a few Rhododendrons blooming here and there, especially in the Victorian Stumpery. Did you know that the garden features the world’s largest public stumpery? The stumpery is artistically arranged with woody trunks along with their root masses. All types of ferns are planted among them along with other types of plants from around the world. It is really very interesting and beautiful, especially when various flower blooms appear. You will not be disappointed if you visit right now and see the most beautiful, coral colored Rhododendrons in the stumpery. Here are several images I took today in the stumpery.

028

029

031

036

039

045

049

050

053

041

057

061

068

063

I hope you can find the time to visit this marvelous garden in Federal Way, Washington very soon!

 

 All photos property of Peggy A Thompson

If you enjoy my photography, visit my Northwestphotos Zazzle store to purchase prints and thousands more items.

About northwestphotos

A long time resident of Washington State, located in the beautiful Pacific Northwest USA. I am retired and enjoy regional travel, exploring all the wondrous, natural settings that the Pacific Northwest has to offer. If you get a chance, visit my Northwestphotos Zazzle store, http://www.zazzle.com/northwestphotos.
This entry was posted in Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Highlights of a Victorian Stumpery

  1. Such glorious colours, Peggy!

  2. Nice, and I remember being there and seeing so many wonderful rhododendrons.

  3. Pingback: A Few of My Favorite Blogs | Wishing My Life Away

  4. Gunta says:

    Beautiful shots, Peggy!

  5. poetsmith says:

    Very creative and lovely photos! The spring flowers are beautiful 🙂

Thank you!

