A Visit to My Favorite Botanical Garden

As many of my blog readers know, I frequently visit my favorite botanical garden, the Rhododendron Species Botanical Garden (RSBG), located in Federal Way. The garden now has available their new 2016 calendar, and two of my floral images are featured: the image for December and the front cover image. You can purchase a copy at the garden gift shop or on-line.

It’s been about 3 months since I last visited the garden due to the prolonged, hot weather and drought we experienced this past summer. Some of the trees and plant specimens took a beating as a result. The hot sun literally burned some of the foliage. I do hope some of the specimens spring back to life in due time. Many of the garden species are specifically acclimated for our Pacific Northwest climate and are not used to a hot, dry climate. Below are some flowering rhododendron species currently blooming in the conservatory, as well as some other foliage around the garden.

048

051

059

073

060

065

066

067

074

These next two images are of the fascinating and lovely Agapetes miniata. Agapetes is a flowering shrub species of Eastern Himalaya.

077

079

032

093

040

098

016

033

I’ll be returning to the garden in about a month to check in on the leaf color. There are many species of Japanese Maples in the garden that turn gorgeous colors during autumn. In the meanwhile, I am enjoying the lovely, sunny autumn days we’re experiencing this week. Hope you are, too!

All photos property of Peggy A Thompson

If you enjoy my photos, please visit my Northwestphotos Zazzle store at http://www.zazzle.com/northwestphotos

 

About northwestphotos

A long time resident of Washington State, located in the beautiful Pacific Northwest USA. I am retired and enjoy regional travel, exploring all the wondrous, natural settings that the Pacific Northwest has to offer. If you get a chance, visit my Northwestphotos Zazzle store, http://www.zazzle.com/northwestphotos.
This entry was posted in Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Visit to My Favorite Botanical Garden

  1. You have a ‘magic’ eye. Great shots.

  2. Beautiful and vibrant colours!

  3. Lovely flower images, Lisa. 🙂

Thank you!

