A Time for Thanksgiving

turkesyA Happy Thanksgiving to One and All!

Not matter what ethnicity you are or what part of the world you live in, I invite you to partake in a special day of thanksgiving. Don’t look at this day at just being a holiday that Americans celebrate, but as a day to look around you and look within, and give thanks for what we have, great or small.

When I look around me, I immediately know what I am grateful for: living here in the great and bountiful Pacific Northwest. I am grateful for the snow capped mountains; I am grateful for the old-growth evergreen and rain forests; I am grateful for the wild, running rivers and salmon; I am grateful for the emerald green, alpine lakes; I am grateful for the colorful rock layers in the high deserts; I am grateful for the ocean seascapes.

As well as sharing with you in words, I also want to share with you, in pictures, these things I am grateful for.

038

2930087080105

6206704380105

847457897905

2106466051105

100_2421

As part of my Day of Thanksgiving, I watched a PBS special called Before They Were Parks. The program explores modern indigenous perspectives on two, great wilderness areas: Glacier National Park and Yellowstone National Park. I invite you watch on line as well. http://www.montanapbs.org/BeforeThereWereParks

 

All images property of Peggy A Thompson

 

 

About northwestphotos

A long time resident of Washington State, located in the beautiful Pacific Northwest USA. I am retired and enjoy regional travel, exploring all the wondrous, natural settings that the Pacific Northwest has to offer. If you get a chance, visit my Northwestphotos Zazzle store, http://www.zazzle.com/northwestphotos.
This entry was posted in Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Time for Thanksgiving

  1. Gunta says:

    What a great idea, showing the things you’re thankful for. I’ll certainly watch that PBS segment just as soon as I can sit down for more than a couple of minutes! 😉

  2. Gorgeous shots! Happy Thanksgiving to you, Peggy.

  3. I watched the show last night, too. I also live in Washington state, but on the other side of the mountains in Walla Walla. Nice nature photos of our state.

Thank you!

