Blossom Time

As stated in my previous blog post, it’s been quite some time since I’ve ventured out into the public gardens, what with all the drenching rain we’ve had all winter. And here is what I found recently: Magnolias are in their finest form right now. This area has the popular, white Star Magnolia and the lovely, pink Saucer Magnolia. Below is an intense pink variety of Saucer Magnolia with its head raised high over Puget Sound.

021

And below is the lovely, white Star Magnolia variety.

024

I would have to say that my favorite Magnolia type is the Chinese Magnolia. They are HUGE! The only place I have seen them is in the Rhododendron Species Botanical Garden, located in Federal Way, WA. I was just there for the first time this season over the weekend, and I must say that I have never seen such exuberant growth and blooms in all the times I have visited. You won’t believe your eyes! Our record rainfall and mild winter created ideal conditions for a floral explosion of sorts. And, there will be more blooms coming. If you get a chance, please visit soon! You won’t be disappointed!

005Chinese Magnolia

The following images were taken in the Rutherford Conservatory in the above mentioned garden. This is where the tropical rhododendrons, orchids, and other exotic plants are grown. There is usually something blooming at any time of year here. The following 4 photos exhibit a few of the many tropical and Asian varieties of rhododendrons in the conservatory.

015

020a

021a

023

Below are a couple of lovely orchid species that are blooming in the conservatory.

025

024a

Below is a Tasmanian Tree Fern.

030

In my next blog post, I will have more rhododendron photos from the outdoor garden.

 

All photo copyright of Peggy A Thompson

About northwestphotos

A long time resident of Washington State, located in the beautiful Pacific Northwest USA. I am retired and enjoy regional travel, exploring all the wondrous, natural settings that the Pacific Northwest has to offer. If you get a chance, visit my Northwestphotos Zazzle store, http://www.zazzle.com/northwestphotos.
This entry was posted in Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Blossom Time

  1. Miriam says:

    Wow these are beautiful flowers.

  2. LaNae says:

    You’ve whipped me into a frenzy! We’re going to be in Seattle this weekend and had decided to stop by the garden on the way home. Now we most definitely will!

  3. They’re a gorgeous sight, Peggy.

Thank you!

