Unbelievable Blooms!

Those that follow my blog know how I love to take photos of seasonal blooms. Perhaps my favorite garden is the Rhododendron Species Botanical Garden, located in Federal Way, Washington. I purchase a yearly membership and visit as many times as I want. My membership also allows me to bring along one guest. Right now the blooms are at their peak, and I strongly suggest to visit as soon as possible. The colors and quantities of blooms will take one’s breath away. Of course, the showy Rhododendrons of many varieties and colors from around the world are the stars of the show, but many companion plants also abound throughout the garden, which is situated in a native forest area. Here are some samples of images that I took, just yesterday.

As one walks into the main, gated entry area of the garden, colorful displays of pink, purple, red, and yellow Rhododendron blooms take the viewer’s breath away. They are all in full bloom now! Here is a preview of what one will see.

016

022

025

Also blooming in the main, gated area of the garden are these huge, pale yellow Chinese Rhododendrons. You have to see them to believe the size of them!

005

008

More rhododendron species:

004

038

040

123

147

153

062

I was going to post several photos of some of the companion plants in the garden, but I think I will need a separate blog post just for those. I have so many images to share, so stay tuned!

 

All photos copyrighted by Peggy A Thompson

 

 

About northwestphotos

A long time resident of Washington State, located in the beautiful Pacific Northwest USA. I am retired and enjoy regional travel, exploring all the wondrous, natural settings that the Pacific Northwest has to offer. If you get a chance, visit my Northwestphotos Zazzle store, http://www.zazzle.com/northwestphotos.
This entry was posted in Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Unbelievable Blooms!

  1. Magnificent blooms… stunning colours! You are blessed, Peggy. 🙂

Thank you!

