The Birth of a Book Idea

A few months back I was discussing an idea of mine with good friend and author, Stephen F. Kaufman. He’s published many books, and one of his most recent ones is titled Homage for Miyamoto Musashi, a collection of 122 haiku dedicated to this most renowned Japanese swordsman in history, who also wrote a very important book on strategy, The Book of Five Rings. Going back a few years, Steve has written his own interpretation of this important book and, to date, has sold well over a million copies world wide.

Traditional Japanese haiku evokes imagery of nature, and after reading many of the verses in this book, an idea dawned on me—to use my nature photography to enhance each verse, giving the reader a bit more insight. I started playing around with my idea and made a few samples to email to Steve. He really liked the idea, so I made a few more and, before you knew it, I had made a dozen or so. Staying with the momentum, I decided to commit myself to a new project: 122 haiku with accompanying images. This required my digging through hundreds (actually, thousands) of photos taken over the past several years, looking for just the right image for each individual verse. It wasn’t always easy finding an appropriate image for some of the more intense verses that had to do with swordsmanship and some of the more gross elements attached to it; but, somehow I managed to find one.

Steve is insisting that we self-publish a book of my images combined with his verse, if only just to have a few copies for ourselves and family, due to the expense of publishing full blown, color images on heavyweight, glossy paper stock. So, we shall see what happens next. In the mean time, here are a few sample images that would be in the book.

01

10

11

33

37

To learn more about author Stephen F. Kaufman, visit his homepage at www.hanshi.com

I have put together a monthly calendar with 12 photos and verse from the book that is available for purchase at my Northwestphotos Zazzle store. http://www.zazzle.com/homage_for_miyamoto_musashi_poetry_calendar-158098525513417801

All images property of Peggy A Thompson

About northwestphotos

A long time resident of Washington State, located in the beautiful Pacific Northwest USA. I am retired and enjoy regional travel, exploring all the wondrous, natural settings that the Pacific Northwest has to offer. If you get a chance, visit my Northwestphotos Zazzle store, http://www.zazzle.com/northwestphotos.
This entry was posted in Nature, Photography, Quotes and Verse and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Birth of a Book Idea

  1. Miriam says:

    These are wonderful. I particularly like the Earth Wind and Fire one. All the best with the book what a great idea.

  2. Gunta says:

    What a great project for your wonderful images!

Thank you!

