Tropical Rhododendrons

So what’s currently blooming at the Rutherford Conservatory at the Rhododendron Species Botanical Garden? Some of my favorites that I wait for each year to bloom! Here’s a few images of Vireya (tropical rhododendron) blooms.

Lovely Pleione Orchids are blooming as well.

The garden and conservatory is located in Federal Way, Washington. Operating hours are Tues – Sun, 10AM – 4PM.

About northwestphotos

A long time resident of Washington State, located in the beautiful Pacific Northwest USA. I am retired and enjoy regional travel, exploring all the wondrous, natural settings that the Pacific Northwest has to offer. If you get a chance, visit my Northwestphotos Zazzle store, http://www.zazzle.com/northwestphotos.
This entry was posted in Nature, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Tropical Rhododendrons

  1. LaNae says:

    Too funny! I was there yesterday and just posted about it!

    • Oh, yes, that is funny! I was actually there yesterday too and posted my images today. I wonder if we crossed paths in the garden. I was there in the early afternoon. I remember seeing a few couples wandering around taking pictures.

      • LaNae says:

        When you were in the conservatory did you happen to mention the fragrance of a particular flower to a woman with a camera? I was solo.

        • Yes! Yes! That was you? Nice to finally have met you! This is so funny!

        • LaNae says:

          That was totally me! Patiently waiting for the other lady with the camera to get out of my way! 😉 Too funny! And those flowers were actually killing my allergies! When you remarked about the scent I almost said, “That’s what that stench is! It’s killing me!” 😜

        • So sorry to hear about your allergies! I look forward each year to smelling that particular species of rhododendron. Very few others have a fragrance as strong as they have. It can get quite overwhelming at times. It reminds me a bit of a strong vanilla smell. But getting back to the gardens, I love spending hours in there. There’s so much to discover as spring marches on. Last year’s blooms were spectacular and so exuberant! I ended up going there just about every week to see something new in bloom, all spring long. Hope you get more opportunities to visit. Maybe we’ll cross paths again, literally! LOL

        • LaNae says:

          I don’t get there as often as I would like, am hoping for a May and a June visit. Always something new to see! Next time I’ll keep an eye out for you!

  2. Pingback: Just When I thought it Would Never Happen… – Wishing My Life Away

  3. Beautiful. I wish they would make their way to spokane !

  4. A lovely sight to see these!

  5. Gunta says:

    How utterly marvelous to meet up with a fellow blogger like that!

Thank you!

