A Stroll Through the Gardens

It’s amazing how much one can miss in just a few weeks when photographing floral gardens during peak bloom times. One of my local favorites to visit throughout the bloom season is Point Defiance Park Gardens. I was just there a week or two ago, but when I revisited today, I was amazed at how many species were in bloom. The recent spat of warm, sunny weather really does make a difference! The rose garden has burst into bloom, and the gardeners have bedded all the colorful edging flowers, such as Marigolds and Begonias. Strolling through this popular garden, take care to notice, with each few steps, all the different species of plants and flowers.

The sun was playing peek-a-boo among the large, white cumulus clouds, providing some excellent opportunities to get good camera exposures. I have always found that the best times to photography bright, colorful Roses is at times like these. Avoid glaring sunlight casting strong shadows. Below are several images of Rose varieties.

Here are a few orange Poppy flowers. The second image shows the seed pods.

This giant Poppy flower, unfortunately, was on its way out. But I love the contrasting, complex design of the flower center.

Below are some lovely Iris blooms.

One of my favorite spring flowers is the Columbine. They come in different color combinations.

The globe shaped Allium is in bloom.

I spotted on one of the blooms a white Crab spider with caught prey: a bee. Below is a better close-up of the unexpected find.

The Daylily blooms are beginning as well.

Calla Lilies are in full bloom.

Pretty, purple Wallflowers

Dephinium, also called Larkspur, are in bloom. Love the shades of blue and pale purple!

I cam across these purple Bellflowers that I had never seen before. The blooms are quite large, about two inches in length.

The lovely Peonies are in bloom. Here I found some mixed in with blooming Lavender.

Lastly, I spotted these blooms that I had never seen before. If any of my blog readers know the species, please comment. They form an array of cascading blooms along a single, thin, long stem. They remind me of Crocosmias.

I hope you enjoyed the stroll through the garden with me today! I may be incorporating some of these photo images on products in my Northwestphotos Zazzle store. The store’s Floral category has really bloomed over the past few years!

All photos property of Peggy A Thompson

 

About northwestphotos

A long time resident of Washington State, located in the beautiful Pacific Northwest USA. I am retired and enjoy regional travel, exploring all the wondrous, natural settings that the Pacific Northwest has to offer. If you get a chance, visit my Northwestphotos Zazzle store, http://www.zazzle.com/northwestphotos.
This entry was posted in Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Stroll Through the Gardens

  1. Gorgeous, and such a rich variety!

  2. Gunta says:

    Lovely samples from your stroll. Thanks for taking me along. I’ve often wished that the gardens did a bit better at identifying the various flowers. Sorry, I can’t help ID that last one. Lately I’ve been trying to ID some wild flowers, but it’s difficult at times.

Thank you!

