A Walk into the Past in Old Sacramento

SacramentoA street in Old Sacramento

Last month I started a train trip across the country, and one of the first places I had the chance to visit for some hours was Sacramento. The Amtrak Coast Starlight makes a stop here, bright and early, around 6 am. There’s not much to do this early in the morning except to sit and wait in the train depot. By the way, the historic Sacramento train depot is undergoing a major restoration inside; you’ll find plenty of metal scaffolding everywhere. I am anxious to see how the depot will look when the work is finished.

Since I had 5 hours to spare, one of the train depot’s attendants suggested that I visit Old Sacramento while waiting for my eastbound train connection. I waited for the sun’s rays to make their morning appearance and then walked in the direction of the popular tourist attraction, a short jaunt from the depot. What an awesome view to behold! There are streets full of the old western style buildings, still standing, and now full of boutiques, museums, and quaint shops, all with wooden sidewalks. Unfortunately, businesses did not open until 9 am; I took advantage of the quiet time to shoot lots of photos without all the traffic and tourists. There is so much to do and see here! If you like museums, there is a California State Railroad Museum, a state history museum, a state military museum, to name a few. I must certainly come back here to spend a whole day perusing all the fun and interesting looking shops that are a throw back to the old western days. I just have to show you some of the photos I took!

DSC00041DSC00042DSC00045DSC00069DSC00047DSC00055DSC00065DSC00066DSC00071DSC00075DSC00077DSC00074DSC00067

All photos by Peggy A Thompson

About northwestphotos

A long time resident of Washington State, located in the beautiful Pacific Northwest USA. I enjoy regional travel, exploring all the wondrous, natural settings that the Pacific Northwest has to offer. If you get a chance, visit my Northwestphotos Zazzle store, http://www.zazzle.com/northwestphotos.
This entry was posted in Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Walk into the Past in Old Sacramento

  1. This is marvelous! I haven’t heard of this part of Sacremento before… the old style’s quite appealing.

  2. Brenda says:

    Fabulous!! I love these pictures, and I had never seen this part of Sacramento. Very old West. I felt like I was in a Western movie. Surely John Wayne had walked those same streets. šŸ™‚

    • Thank you, Brenda! Glad you enjoyed the photos. I hope to someday return there and, yes, one would think that John Wayne visited Old Sacramento. Who knows? Perhaps some of his movie scenes were cut there!

      • Brenda says:

        Where I live in New England used to be a movie set in the late 1800s or early 1900s, and they filmed old westerns, with horses charging down. I love to imagine them still here. šŸ™‚

Thank you!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.